Betrayed... in The Mundane Ramblings of an Insane Mind

Revised: 01/29/2016 4:59 p.m.

  • Jan. 22, 2016, 5:36 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I feel betrayed. I have a day job, have been there for over a year, started around early November 2014. When I was hired, boss said “off the books”… I said fine. All of a sudden, a few days ago, he wants to give me a 1099, said too many checks raise red flags with the government… um… how is that my problem?

He asks for my SS number. Me, the idiot, I give it to him, thinking he meant a 1099 for 2016.. no, he meant for all of 2015. Ummm… what? How am I supposed to come up with all that money in a few months? BARELY scraping by as it is.

His idea? He’s cheap, this is great.. he wants to give me “merchandise”, so I can sell it, and recoup the money that way. I said, are you kidding me? First, I don’t have time to sell stuff.. have you seen my garage? I have lots of stuff from other clients, and I don’t have time to sell that, either. Second, anything I sell, I have to pay taxes on myself.

I keep asking him to resolve this.. he hates confrontation, so he avoids the subject, or just repeats the same asinine “solution” over and over.

So today I just blew off work.

I’m also thinking of telling him to go f*** himself. I’m also thinking of blowing off work tomorrow, especially since we have this huge snow storm coming.

I don’t need this sh**. Worse comes to worse, I will pull my 3 year old out of pre-school and take care of her all day. That’ll save us about $700 a month.

I’ve been loyal to this guy and job for a long time, and this is how he shows his appreciation? He KNOWS I’m struggling financially, and he throws this at me? Just to save his own sorry ass…

*Edited to add: Kids were sick Monday through Wednesday, so I had to stay home to take care of them. I didn’t go in yesterday, or today either, for that matter. Told him I’m coming in on Monday, which will be interesting. (Have not been there the past 7 days).

I’m okay with not working there anymore. I used to feel a sense of dedication, and loyalty, but that’s all gone now.


Last updated January 29, 2016


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.