An early morning visitor(s) in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • Jan. 21, 2016, 4:51 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Ok, I’m tired of winter now. Schools have started cancelling for today due to snow and freezing rain returning to our area. I had just texted J’s bus driver and told her I wasn’t sending him due to the snow on its way. It is about 80 miles west and heading our way, so why chance it? No reason in my mind. It must be moving pretty good cause there are more cancellations being added as I type this. Anyway, I’m really really glad I don’t have to worry and try to decide whether to try getting to work and back home. What a HUGE relief!! Now, if my big kids would all stay home to be safe that would be another relief. However, when you’re trying to provide for your young family, you don’t feel as though you have the same choice, which you don’t I suppose. There were many times that I wondered if I was going to make to work and then back home. Always did, but there were some serious butt clincher times.

Speaking of butt clincher/stomach in your throat moments. Just as I got to the end of the 1st paragraph I heard what sounded like a light knock on my door. I thought it might be Owen, even though it was 5:30 AM, but no, it was a young guy and a girl who told me that he’d had a flat on his truck which was in the road just below my house and that the battery was dead and they needed a jump. Not feeling it, at 5:30 in the morning on a dark, cold, and covered roads. I told them I could call 9-1-1 or someone to come and help them and they didn’t know anyone or anyone’s number to call and his phone didn’t have a good signal. I said I have a house phone I will use to call someone. Nope, they didn’t know anyone’s number. And they didn’t want me to call anyone. So the uneasy feeling just grew. It is cold outside, but didn’t invite them. The guy had on insulated coveralls, the girl barely had a coat. I felt bad, but not secure enough to allow them inside. I told them I would come up with something to get them some help, but knew I wasn’t going to jump them. Strangest thing is, that Polka Dot didn’t make a peep. He may be sleeping up at A’s so he didn’t know anyone was even on the place.
Anyway, I decided to call my neighbors who live about 3/4 mile from me. He came and got the truck started and I noticed that neighbor man, backed up into my drive to wait for them to go on their way. Not sure if he knows how much I appreciate him getting out in the weather to get them on their way and out of my concern. Whew!! Thank you Jesus for giving me awesome and wonderful neighbors!!!!! I’m absolutely SURE they had no legitimate business to be down here. Not sure why they were down here and not sure when they actually had their troubles. I do know that I’ll again tell my neighbor how much I appreciate him and his help for those two.

Ok, so yesterday, I did some light cleaning and a load, maybe two of laundry. I did a bit of sewing, and then A and Owen walked down and I worked on her expense/income spreadsheet to close out the year. She lacks one more form for her to get her taxes done, and not sure when she’ll get that to me to send to her accountant, but when she does give it to me I will forward to the accountant.

I need to do my own tax stuff. I need to have Dad get his stuff together so I get his ready too. Oy Vay!

I made another flannel back receiving blanket yesterday afternoon and cut out a new pattern for burp cloth. Intended to get the burp cloth done last night, but my thumb on my right hand was hurting really badly. I took some Aleve and it toned down the pain but it was still there. Not sure what is going on with it and do have pain sometimes. I suspect it may be carpol tunnel or however it is spelled. I hope I do not have to have surgery for it in the future as my understanding is that sometimes it helps and sometimes it doesn’t. I’m not even sure what causes it to ache but will pay more attention today. Maybe it is the weather or atmospheric pressure. Not sure, but it sure hurt.

Have a small load of clothes in the dryer and when it is done I will take my shower and get dressed. Will fix something for breakfast and then work on the burp cloth. I use terry cloth and a piece of cotton fabric for the burp cloths so they can catch a burp with more than air and it can also be used to wipe faces, hands, or whatever.

When I get this set of stuff done I will take pictures of both sets and post them. Which reminds me that I need to check where I upload my pictures to post as I was running out of space and they were really wanting me to expand and pay money. What sites do you use to upload photos that are free, if any?

I’m sure I was going to write more, but now can’t think of it so will end this and get on to something else. Take care and God Bless


aunty EM January 21, 2016

I think you did the smartest thing with your "visitors".

GypsyWynd January 21, 2016

I wouldn't answer the door, especially not at 5:30 in the morning. You did the wise thing, calling a neighbor.
I use photobucket for uploading pictures.

Wind Swept January 21, 2016

Thank goodness for your neighbor......

Ragdolls January 21, 2016

That neighbor was really nice. He should get a plate of cookies or something.....

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm January 21, 2016

photobucket. i don't think i'd have let them in either. sounds terribly suspicious to me. glad you have good neighbors. take care,

crystal butterfly January 24, 2016

e5:30 in the morning, both a flat tire and a dead battery. I'd worry too.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.