Snowshoeing in a Snowstorm in Wanderings

  • Jan. 19, 2016, 3:21 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was getting worried about my January climb up the mountain. The snow was getting deeper and my available chances for my monthly hike were slipping away. On Saturday, I decided to climb as far as I could despite the steady snow that was forecasted. I figured if I could get part way, maybe the next day I could return and get further.
It started to snow around 7:30 that morning as I prepared to leave, but I was undeterred. Being out all day in snow has never bothered me before, and it wouldn’t bother me now. So up the hill I went. The couple of feet of snow on the ground was still soft, and the climbing was hard, even with my snowshoes. On bare ground, I had been making the climb in 50-55 minutes, but after one hour of extreme effort, I was barely halfway.
More than once I thought about turning around, but always decided to keep pressing onward. After 2 hours and 10 minutes, I finally was on the summit I named Weathertop. It was my 121st month in a row. The snow at the top was 45 inches deep, with more coming down all the time.
I took this picture of my snowshoe tracks as I crested the mountain. You can see how grey and gloomy the sky was. It kept snowing and snowing. I felt extra good for having made the climb, and spent 30 minutes walking around Weathertop before I headed back down.

 photo 9f159f3e-7f85-4db2-be05-622bc823741d_zpsay1jqqu7.jpg

As I returned, I noticed my tracks from my trip up were disappearing. It snowed 4-5 inches from when I left until I returned. It was hard, but good. Actually, one of the best climbs I have had.


ermentrude January 19, 2016

I couldn't imagine that your would let little snow stop you. Great walk!

thesunnyabyss January 19, 2016

how awesome!!!

so I`ve been thinking about getting some snowshoes, any recommendations?

Wind Swept thesunnyabyss ⋅ January 20, 2016

the brand I have are Redfeathers... And i really love them.

ManitouWolf January 19, 2016

I cannot imagine that kind of snow. It would have to be the apocalypse for that to occur here in Texas.
Glad you were able to make it to the top! 121 months in a row! That's AWESOME!

Kimber January 19, 2016

You know, if you carried a brick up there every trip, you could have half of a shelter built by now.
:-)

NorthernSeeker January 20, 2016

Wow, that is a really steep climb. Is it difficult to go down something that steep?

Wind Swept NorthernSeeker ⋅ January 20, 2016

going up is hard, but in many ways, going down is harder...

Deleted user January 22, 2016

You are one determined guy !!

Deleted user February 08, 2016

You're inspirational, and always have been! Proud of you! : )

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.