Good week in Hello.

  • Jan. 19, 2016, 10:29 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

This week has been great so far!
First of all, I found out that Sports Direct were giving away free coats via mail order, so I got one. It’s not normally my cup of tea, a brown puffa jacket type thing with orange panels on the front, but it’s super warm and fleece lined. I was very sceptical when I read about it on Facebook, but it was a legitimate offer and I paid the £4.99 p and p with PayPal, so there’s no credit card fraud afoot! I ordered it Sunday and it arrived today. It’s a little small, but it should fit me nicely when I lose a bit more weight. It should have been £59.99!
Then yesterday (Monday) I received the £500 grant the local council were giving to all those affected by the flood, then today I received a further £1,000 from the flood grant given by the government! This is totally awesome and will come in handy later in the year when we will be going car shopping! :)
My plan is to pay off my credit card then put the rest into savings for now, accrue a bit of interest. I’m also putting some aside for my Download ticket, but I’m going to see if I can get a cheaper one off eBay nearer the time.

I managed to clear out the cupboard in the kitchen. There was flour in there that expired in 2011, lol! It was long overdue a good clean and now my side is clear, as I put all of John’s spice jars in the space I created in the cupboard. Another step towards decluttering.
I’m also making progress with my meditation. Last night I managed to do it without falling asleep!
My food journey isn’t quite as successful yet. I haven’t managed to make a single item of vegetable based food that has totally wowed me yet. I’m not sure where I’m going wrong, I keep thinking “oh this, this and this will probably taste nice together…” yet it never does. I’ve always been imaginative with trying flavours together, it seems to work ok with meat, but I find vegetables trickier. Like the other night I thought I’d try parsnip, pear, beetroot and coconut together in a mash. It was really tasty, but after a few mouthfuls, it was so sweet and sickly!

I’ve also made enough Swagbucks this week to get a £5 Amazon gift voucher, so I bagged it quickly while they’ve got a sale on. I’m keen on getting a Fitbit or something similar, but I’ll probably be bored of that idea by the time I’ve saved up enough!


Last updated January 19, 2016


Canadian Lass January 19, 2016

Ha!! I did the food storage cleaning thing today too!!!! I tossed out so much that was half used or unused that had expired!
Just realized... im almost up to the $100 one!!! lol
so much on amazon, so little swagbucks... lol

Mum of Yum January 19, 2016

Just a note on the Fitbit - I love mine and it's definitely made me more active. You can do challenges between friends which helps if you are competitive like me!!

puffin January 22, 2016

The Happy Pear is a great recipe book with veggie stuff in...also lianne's blog Everything Goes With Toast. Are you still bad with things like salmon? Xx

Babe In Toyland puffin ⋅ January 22, 2016

No, I'm fine with fish. I love fish, especially oily stuff like mackerel. Mmmm....

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.