MLK Day in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • Jan. 18, 2016, 4:28 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Martin Luther King Day. A three day weekend for many and I always liked getting this 3 day weekend not long after the hustle and bustle of the holidays. Ahhh. No big meals to prepare, no crowds expected, just J and I doing what we needed to do.

But, this weekend has been a hard working, down and dirty labor intensive weekend that started on Thursday for me and Friday for J. Holy Crap we’ve worked hard and steady. A huge difference in his room is the pay off. Owen and my nephew came down for a bit yesterday afternoon and they were both totally in awe of the major change in J’s room. J is liking the less clutter a LOT. He has even been working hard to sort through things and throwing stuff away. I am really hoping that once this major project is complete that he (and I) can keep his room from ever getting like it was when the project was started. There is a box behind my chair in the LR of the clothes (mostly shirts) that my two older kids will go through to see if they can use any of them. Both have said they are interested so I believe most will have new homes in the near future. We have all of J’s games back in their cases and placed neatly in the bookcase. His DVD’s are mostly back in their cases and neatly arranged. His dresser and chest of drawers have all been emptied, clothes sorted, and have been refilled with usable and neatly folded clothes. The game chair that he never used has been relocated and I will get rid of it when the weather warms up. (It is below 0 this morning–brrr) I will use the guest room for “transition items” until the weather warms up a little. J had a ton of books in his room in various locations and they are now in a box and Owen and H helped me make a spreadsheet of book titles and authors. There are around 10 Goosebump books in the lot and various other books. His DVD stash is awesome and I may be watching a few of those once these projects are under control.

I woke up extra early this morning with my body aches. It seems to be revolting on me as I’ve used it much more in the last few days than in the last several weeks. lol My back is stiff and hurts and I think that is because I was pulling and tugging and pushing on furniture and my kitchen stove. I never could get the kitchen stove to move like I wanted but will try again at a later time. There is a bit more space between the stove and counter on one side than the other and I was trying to get it a little more equal. Heh. Didn’t really happen but did clean both sides–well sorta. Not much room on the one side so used a knife and dishrag to get the crud as much as possible.

Fixed 3 pair if J’s jeans yesterday morning before he got up and since it was snowing like crazy most of the morning I decided to stay home from church. I know I could have made it and it isn’t that far from where I live, but just didn’t want to get out in it. I also need to get my gas tank filled up. The short trips are bad to make me run low on gas. Funny, never had that problem when I worked every day. I don’t think I’ve put gas in the Tahoe since I retired. Wow!

Since J and I worked most all day yesterday, and the results are very apparent now, I am going to try and do something a bit less physical. I may work a bit on my sewing room and if the mood strikes I may make another receiving blanket. I need to but just haven’t had time. Can’t remember the due dates on either baby due, but know it keeps getting closer for both. lol

MLK. Several years ago (over 10) I went to Atlanta for a work related class and a lady that was giving some of the classes and that I talked to by phone a lot on the system we used then, took myself and another lady on a tour of MLK’s home. I’ll never ever forget it and I was so very glad I had the opportunity to get to tour his home, the museum, and had a guide. It was also a bit scary as the area had some loiters that seemed attracted to me. Miss Rosa told me to quit looking at them and for goodness sake, stop SMILING. I did as I was told as she looped her arm through mine and marched me down the sidewalk. Also had the chance to see the underground railroad. So very much history and is being forgotten by so many. When you take away the symbols of some of the history, it is easy for generations to come to even realize how far our country has come. It still has things to gain and changes to make, but oh my what changes have happened.

Have a great day today. Take care and God Bless


Silent Echo/Quiet Storm January 18, 2016

it is a project to clean out a messy room. makes more of a mess cleaning it than it was in the beginning. i'm coming to grips with my decluttering. feels good when it's all said and done. just spots here and there now need to be done. snowed here this morning so, not sure if i'm going anywhere or not. might wait til tomorrow. we'll see. i've bought daisy several receiving blankets to put over her in the summer so she can still be completely covered but, not be too hot. take care,

Deleted user January 18, 2016

Yes I agree. Too much history is disregarded by the young. Do they even study history in school today? :-)

GypsyWynd January 18, 2016

I haven't put gas in my car since before Thanksgiving.........and I still have half a tank! Obviously, I don't get out enough.

middle age pearl GypsyWynd ⋅ January 18, 2016

Ok, I know someone who gets out less than I do. lol IF I hadn't made so many trips to Wally World, I could have a 1/2 tank left too. However I filled up on the day before New Year's Eve Day, I think. Hard to remember that far back. LOL

crystal butterfly January 24, 2016

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.