Follow the Rabbit-Proof Fence (Review 6) in Book Challenge 2016 (52 books to be read in 52 weeks)

  • Jan. 18, 2016, 1:31 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, this was a quick (re)read at 136 pages (including Glossary and References). However, Follow The Rabbit-Proof Fence by Doris Pilkington/Nugi Garimara is an important one. It’s the story of three girls - Molly (the eldest, and Doris’ mother), Gracie and Daisy and their 1,600 kilometre trek to get home after being forcibly removed from their family in 1931. The three’s ages ranged from 8 to 14 at the time of their escape from the institution, and what they had to go through just to survive....just incredible.

This is the second time I’ve read this book - both times have been after seeing the film of the same name. Even though I’ve seen the film three or four times over the last twelve or thirteen years, I still find myself getting tearful watching parts. The ending, for example, and a certain scene towards the start of the film. If you, reader, have seen it you’ll know which scene I’m referring to. If you, reader, have yet to see it - definitely watch it. Read the book too, though! It’s one of those books that will remain on my “recommend to others” list, due to it’s importance - I don’t know much about Aboriginal history or the experiences of those who are part of the Stolen Generation, but this book gives me an idea of what the three young ladies experienced.

A worthwhile, important read.

Books Read This Year So Far: 6. Total Number Of Pages Read: 1729


Kimber January 18, 2016

Thanks for this review! I loved the movie but had no idea it was based on a book. I'll have to look for it.

TudorRose Kimber ⋅ January 19, 2016

No worries. Just had a look, and Pilkington has written a couple of other books on her family's experiences. So I'm going to be having a look for those.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.