Work Update in QUOTIDIEN

  • Jan. 18, 2016, 2:25 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Wow! It HAS been a while.

After having been treated like crap by my last manager from the moment I was complimented (in front of her) by the company big-wigs - and having broken off ties with Jon, there’ s an about face in my life.

I met Bill. Damn. I’m still not sure he’s all that real. There’s so much to tell, and bedtime is approaching....but bottom line, he was easy to fall in love with - and to be treated the way he treats me....did I say, ‘damn’?

alt text

Impossibly wonderful. Btw…that’s a small portion of my new desk at my new job. Yeah…the new job.

I work for a little Durable Medical Equipment company (understatement) on the campus where I worked for that security company - making $2.60 an hour more than I was making when I was made supervisor. Oooof!

I work in the Customer Qualification department for CPAP purchases. What I did in badging was NOTHING compared to this.

I applied after I was demoted for the second time at Allied Barton - and when THAT position was ‘eliminated’, I was placed on BOLO watch in one building: The executive building....for a client who, according to my manager, had come to despise me to the point they didn’t want me on campus.

I was accepted almost immediately though it seemed interminable, for me. I’m glad to say that I carried out my last month or so with grace and dignity - never insulting the manager before others. I did my job, was grateful for an income until something better came along.

This new place called to offer me the job, and listed the benefits. Then I was asked, ‘is that something you’d be okay with’? She was asking about the hourly amount that dropped my jaw. “Excuse me? How much? - Oh…sure. Yeah. That’d be just fine.”

There was the 4 week training period that was SO packed with information, I thought there was no way I could EVER retain it all. I was slower than many in picking up this new (OLD) system. About 50% of it is a DOS based program. Kill me, already.

Then there was 2 weeks on the floor training (A-Bay). For the two of us who were selected for CPAP (one of the most difficult departments), we have a 120 day probation period.

We’ve been told SO MANY TIMES how normal it was to be filled with questions, but I hate having to bother someone else. Time is precious, and I feel like I’m stealing time from others.

We’re still not at the place they’d like us to be, but we’re working our assess off. I actually love what I’m doing. Piecing together a puzzle - serving patients. Right up my alley. My co-trainee, otoh, hates the job and is just biding her time until her wedding.

alt text

That’s it for now. More later.


Deleted user January 18, 2016

Congrats on a new job !

Noodlebugs! January 18, 2016

I just love that you are updating!

GypsyWynd January 18, 2016

So glad to see you back! Congratulations on the new job.

middle age pearl January 18, 2016

Glad you're writing again. Yay for hanging in there under stressful circumstances and it paid off and now look at you!! Better bosses and better salary!! Congrats!!

Ashley January 18, 2016

How nice to hear from you again. Can't wait to hear all the details!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.