Saturday evening in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • Jan. 16, 2016, 8:44 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

J and I worked all day in his room. He is very methodical when it comes in going through his stuff. I asked him if he wanted me to do it and he said “no I’ll do it”. Think he was afraid I’d throw too much of his stuff away. He would have been correct. However, he seems extremely pleased that I’m helping. We ate breakfast/brunch together at 10 after we had started in his room again. We had only worked about an hour in there but neither of us had eaten since last night at supper so we ate something and then went back to it. I did run to Wally World to get some shelves for his room. There really isn’t a dedicated place for his towels and washcloths so I came up with an idea. I had seen the heavy duty plastic shelves this week and decided with snow in our forecast again, better get what I wanted today. I got several things for his room organization so hopefully tomorrow we can finish it up. I know I’m wore out tonight and just took some Aleve to hopefully relieve the pain in my back and neck. We did make a lot of progress and in doing so, I have even more of a mess than previously. *sigh I knew this was going to be a major undertaking, but it needed to be done. We won’t work as long or as hard tomorrow afternoon (I hope) but know he is as ready to get it done as I am. I stopped to start supper about 5:30 and he was in the middle of clearing his floor and putting some of the stuff away. He finally came to eat about 30 minutes after supper was ready. Love that boy.

J, again, never stops amazing me. I forget that he can read better than I expect and when we were matching titles with cases, he was helping me find the matches. Tomorrow afternoon if we work in there (I may give him a day of relaxation if he wants) we both must get up and move every so often. Not good to stay in one place and not get your blood pumping on occasion.

I talked to Dad yesterday afternoon as I hadn’t talked to him the day before just to check on him. He was fine and asked if I’d been sewing up a storm. No, I said, working in J’s room and I didn’t work this physically hard at work as I have been since I “retired”. lol Course that is true and it is ok. It was nice when I realized that in years past, I’d work like crazy on a 3 day weekend to get extra things done. I seem to still be in that mindset, however, I don’t have to go back to work on Tuesday. Yay!!

Reminds me. The paragraph yesterday about whether or not to continue helping. Several have mentioned that I could ask for $$$ for being asked to help. Like a consultation fee. Man, would I like to do that, but no, I want to be free from my boss’ ignorance. They had three MONTHs advance notice of my retirement. Over twelve weeks. I understand that the wheels of said business run backward 1st before they can go forward. But, after the interviews were completed I believe it took 4 weeks (not positive it was 4 maybe 3 or 3 1/2) for them to offer the position to selected individual. That offer was not done until after I retired. I had really hoped that my replacement would be offered the position by the 1st of December so I could at least communicate with the person by phone and email to give them information. But no. My understand is she will report the 25th of January. I did burn info to a DVD that I have here and will get it to her after a week or two after her reporting date. I will not, however, share any of my lack of respect for the boss to her. She can make her own decisions on that item, and besides, she may get along with him famously. I hope so for her sake.

Blah blah blah. So sorry to bore you with my whining. It won’t take me long to put the last 32 years behind me, and actually there is some satisfaction in my heart to have them have to call me. I’m sure that my name will be used often in the “fault” phrases as that seems to be normal after someone leaves or retires. Its all good now. All good. I’ll help them out until it becomes annoying and then that is it. When I’m done , I’m done, and there won’t be any guess work between us, if and when that time comes. I shared a lot of information when I returned his call so maybe he will figure it out, or he’ll have one of my employees do it.

My eye lids are getting very heavy and going to bed sounds better and better. Have a wonderful tomorrow. Take care and God Bless


Deleted user January 16, 2016

Getting organized is such a good feeling. :-)

Slowpoke January 17, 2016

I can't tell you how many folks have told me they are working harder now than they ever worked before they retired. I tell them to wait for a year and they will be bored because they have nothing to do. lol. Take Care.

aunty EM January 17, 2016

I wonder how I ever had time to work....

~Harmonie~ January 17, 2016

Getting organized....Hmmmm..... LOL That is what I am going to have to do with my sewing things and fabric in this MUCH smaller apartment! Want to come and help me???? Sounds like you got a lot done!! :) Hugs,M

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.