Keeping up in Hello.

  • Jan. 17, 2016, 7:27 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve been doing well with my non-resolution thing so far. I’m making sure I’m doing one of my decluttlering things at least once a day, no matter how small, so every day is feeling like a tiny victory. Even things like clearing out some more emails (I hardly ever check my inbox, there are a LOT!) or carrying on knitting the only project on the go without starting a new one count as a success. They may sound small to you, but they’re a big deal to me. They’re helping me feel less stressed.
Things I’ve done:
Emptied all my change smaller than a pound coin into a jar. I did plan on doing this every day, but to be honest, I haven’t taken any cash out of the bank so I’ve only done it once from my purse and twice from John’s wallet and bedside table. I’m going to use this money to put towards a shop at the end of every month.

Bought lots of fruit and vegetables and ate them. I’m terrible for buying it and not eating it. Another part of my decluttering exercise is to not throw away any food. We’ve been eating food out of the fridge or freezer instead of me buying something I fancy. The kids have had strange meals, including chicken nugget sandwiches and sausages with pasta in passata.

Thrown away some clothes instead of putting them on my mending pile. I kid myself with that one, I never even look at my mending pile. And I only ever buy cheap clothes anyway.

Downloaded a mindful app with a mind to learning how to meditate properly. Years ago I found out the technique used in meditation is the same technique I use to fall asleep. So now every time I meditate, I fall asleep. Tonight was no exception. It’s only a ten minute session, but I managed to fall asleep about a minute before it finished!

These might sound small and insignificant, but to me each one means that I’ve fulfilled my decluttering for that day. This week I plan to either:
Totally clear and clean out the living room, rewire my lamp and put up my fairy lights. This is so I can have lovely low light in the living room.
OR
Clean out the baking cupboard in the kitchen and put sticky labels on all the storage jars.
OR
Finish cleaning and clearing out my bedroom and rearrange the furniture so it’s easier to walk around without turning sideways.
If I set myself up to do all three, I won’t and I’ll be disappointed. So my aim is to do at least one.

Edited to add:
There is £57.05 in my coin jar! To be fair, it wasn’t empty when I started collecting coins. I’m tempted to keep saving them till that, combined with the money I’m putting aside when I lose weight, is equal to the cost of a Download ticket.

I think the reason I fail when I set myself a new year resolution is because it’s something that is a challenge, something I have to work towards. This is not a challenge, I’m actually enjoying what I’m doing!


Last updated January 17, 2016


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.