Waiting to crash. in Jingle bells, batman smells while shepherds wash their socks (winter 2015/16).

  • Jan. 16, 2016, 10:56 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I had those type of weekend plans, you know the ones. You don’t? Well, make yourself comfortable and I’ll begin.

Feeling a certain amount of boredom at the weekly trail around the supermarket with an over enthusiast husband and whining kids in tow I had actually been organised; I had ordered the shopping online to be collected late morning so I had few plans.

Friday night had involved intellectual telly - First Dates and then bed by 11:15 to watch the first episode of Death in Paradise. The new series had started without warning so I needed to catch up!

Falling asleep just after midnight should give me enough sleep for the girls usual wake up of 7ish.

“Mum, mum! I’m getting the feeling,” my eldest ran into the room, her words coming out in erratic breaths.

A panic attack.

Pulling the duvet back I let her climb in. I stroked her hair and whispered gently helping her to take deep, gentle breaths allowing normality to gradually return.

” Mum, what time us it?”

I peered at the clock; 5:54am. The groan was internal, my situation dire; wedged between my sprawled husband and curled up daughter. Regrets at the decision to not upgrade to a king size bed surfacing once more. As two lots of breathing became heavier, more even, yet softer I was stuck with my left arm sticking up at an awkward angle, blood giving up its attempts to reach my fingers. Tingles.

Two hours later I had, mentally, arranged the music for a lead singer with backing vocalists to a spoof song. Sparks original This Town Ain’t Big Enough For The Both Of Us changed to This Bed Ain’t Big Enough For The Three Of Us, but relief came when Rich abruptly left the bed, annoyed at the lack of duvet.

Five hours sleep could only mean a day in which the grumps reigned.

But, I have rearranged the kitchen, cleaned the cupboards, cleaned all the Windows and sills. I am now standing by the stove making chocolate (trying a new recipe) because I received a new chocolate mould in the post today! I’m sure the crash will be soon but long last this energy!


thesunnyabyss January 16, 2016

how is it that Mum always ends up in the middle, lol,

I hope tonight is peaceful,

ermentrude thesunnyabyss ⋅ January 16, 2016

It actually isn't always me, usually but not always. X

The Tranquil Loon January 16, 2016

great accomplishment!

Deleted user January 19, 2016

I do not sleep much but it's my back and one spoiled silly cat that are the causes:-) Can't say I ever have an abundance of energy , drat it !

Wind Swept January 20, 2016

I think your song title is brilliant... I can see that becoming a hit....

colojojo January 20, 2016

You need a weekend for your weekend!

ermentrude colojojo ⋅ January 20, 2016

What I actually need is a few days, utterly alone, in a hotel room with room service, a pile of brilliant books and a bed made of clouds...

colojojo ermentrude ⋅ January 20, 2016

Yes. Yes you do!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.