Purging J's room in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • Jan. 15, 2016, 6:53 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well it is Friday. As of this morning, I’ve received 3 phone calls from the work place. Two from boss’s office (1 from the Office Assit and 1 from him) and then 1 from the older male employee. On the boss front: I really want to not answer the phone or return the call, but so far I have done so. I think I’m going to give them 30 days and then stop helping. Any thoughts?

Almost 1/2 way through January and time is clipping along. I’ve been cleaning J’s room. I was pretty worthless on Wednesday but yesterday his room was on my list and on my mind. I got a really good start. It is not done by no means but a good start at least. I emptied his chest of drawers and went through all the clothes sorting, throwing away a few things, made a “keep” stack and a “give away” stack. The chest of drawers is still empty as I didn’t put anything back in the drawers. I will incoorporate his help and input on where he wants to put the items. I think he forgets he even has clothes in the chest of drawers. Poor J. His life is changing, he just may not realize how much yet. :)

He has boxes and boxes of books. I have two of the boxes here in the LR next to my chair and I’m going to go through all of them. Most of these have been given to him by a friend or someone and he is going to have to decide which ones he really wants to keep and the rest will have to find a new home.

Same with his CDs and games. Goodness. What I hope we accomplish today is to put games with their correct cases. If we can get that all sorted out, then we’ll take all of the PS2 and PS3 games that he doesn’t play and that still work, to the Game Store for credit for him to get different or newer games later.

Oh the CDs that he has acquired!! Hundreds of them. These too will be gone through and decisions made on trash, keep, give away, or I may even put some, if there are any, on our local yard sale site. Time and a LOT of work will see where this project ends up.

Still have a small dresser to empty out and Heaven help me, his closet. Once the purging and cleaning are completed, then the expectation will be that HE cleans his room to include dusting, sweeping, and cleaning his bathroom every week. If needed, it may be 2 Xs a week. Mom’s home now and can give more attention. He will hate it but like it at the same time.

The little big man has a huge collection of hats. I did use a heavy twine and clips to organize some of them. He still have enough to do another one but not sure he can squeeze the clip to get the cap off of its place. I will see about that today and if he can I’ll make another double hanger.

I made 2 doz oatmeal raisin cookies earlier in the week. I eat 2-3 a day and yesterday I ate 4. Glad I only made a 1/2 of a recipe.

Talked to Dude yesterday on the phone. Please keep them in your prayers. Think they are going through a rough patch and he thinks its him and I agree. He is being like his father and that is not good. Jealousy is like a virus. It will eat you alive and the longer it goes “untreated” the stronger it gets. I think his upbringing is causing him troubles. I talked to him for a long time as his father was a jealous nightmare for me. Unfounded. Although after being accused all the time, I was seriously considering giving him something to worry about since I was paying the price and hadn’t done anything. Life repeats.

So as I look around my LR, I see that my “cleaning” is again causing a bigger mess than I started with yesterday. Since I washed a lot of the clothes I was sorting in J’s room yesterday, I have small piles of his clean clothes all over the LR. There is a pile on the safe, and two chairs. By end of today, they will be gone. Either put away or in a donate stack.

J is off on Monday for MLK day. His nightmare is just beginning. LOL

Take care and God Bless


Last updated January 15, 2016


aunty EM January 15, 2016

Since I had given proper notice when I quit a job I once had, and the boss had done nothing to replace me, I got a lot of calls to come in and help train the new person. I accommodated them, but at the end of a month, I sent them a bill for my services at a much higher rate than I had been paid when "employed." They paid it, but I never got called back in again. Somehow they figured it out without me.

GypsyWynd January 15, 2016

I like aunty Em' s solution.
I would think two weeks is long enough to answer their calls , figuring two weeks is customary for giving notice.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.