David Bowie is Dead in Talk Radio

  • Jan. 11, 2016, 2:10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Watched the Breakfast Club yesterday, confused and disappointed with there being no breakfast in that movie.

This morning David Bowie is dead.

Both of these things are reminding me that I tend to dislike 80s things. Technology was a good thing that happened then, but this was the time of Reagan’s corperate expansion. 80s just seems so excessive in a bad way, totally insincere and shallow.

I am going to get tired of hearing about David Bowie. I don’t get the Bowie cult at all. I like a few of his songs but overall not interested in his music. If I had to guess why he’s so popular I would suggest it has to do with the sexual content which was progressive at the time. Bowie is a reason why people know bisexuals exist especially in the 80s, so I could appreciate him desensitizing the public, but again the issue of insincerity. Later he recanted, saying he was actually a closet heterosexual, describing his bisexuality as:

“a compulsion to flout moral codes than a real biological and psychological state of being.”

So if this is true Bowie and his cult are basically the tumblr of his day. Or possibly the bisexuality was sincere and the actual regret was outing himself.

Although I think Bowie is over rated I feel sorry for his fans. He’s still a person and his death does seem so sudden.


Last updated January 11, 2016


Mr. Mofo January 11, 2016

I really enjoyed his music, and I LOVED his acting in The Linguini Incident, but it has always made me feel uncomfortable when I see people cry over people who they have never even met in real life. It just looks disingenuous. Also I would like to say that in the 80's we all wore mullets and coats with big poofy shoulder pads so I do not miss the 80's at all.

hollow book January 11, 2016

I second this entry.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.