Internet issues or something in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • Jan. 10, 2016, 6:10 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Not sure what is going on and if it is just my computer or internet connect or the network as a whole. The only site I can access this morning and yesterday evening was this one, which is a very good thing, however I’d like to get to other sites too. It took several minutes before it would bring up Prosebox and I had left it to get a refill of coffee then went to empty my bladder. When I got back Prosebox was up on the page. I was very relieved as my knowledge is extremely limited on how to fix an internet connection speed. Actually no knowledge except to do some “cleaning” and turn my WiFi off and then back on. Didn’t do that last part yet, and the last resort is to call my provider, which I may yet have to do. I hope is just a quirk that resolves itself soon.

Yesterday I stayed busy all day. It was raining when I got up at 4:30 and changed into snow short after. It snow big wet heavy flakes and made everything look so pretty outside. I decided to make a loaf of bread and wanted to make some white softer bread. Looking for a recipe for a softer white bread, I came across a site that said she never let the break maker to the baking cycle as she didn’t like the square loaf result. I decided that I would give it a try to bake in the oven. The “rising” cycles have always been the issue for me, but since it had done the first rise in the bread maker, I figured why not try. It turned out fine. I’ll do some tweaking the recipe next time I use it as it was a bit dry and needed a little more salt but it isn’t bad and made the house smell divine.

As the bread dough was doing its thing I cleaned the kitchen counters and kitchen table off and washed dishes. Oh my, I’m such a drag and drop person. I don’t much care for that either. I know it is because I get distracted or think I’m too tired to put things back or in their proper place but this is something I want to change. I hate having to do the same thing over and over and if I don’t break this, that is exactly what I’ll be doing.

I rolled some cigarettes for a while yesterday and rolling my own has reduced my intake of cigarettes which is a good thing. Please don’t tell me how bad smoking is, as I know it already. I’m too old for reprimands and know the dangers. One thing at a time and in time, I’ll quit. Maybe when I die, but eventually I’ll quit.

So as I was folding some clean clothes on my bed, the urge struck me to open a dresser drawer and start purging. WooHoo. I purged all 6 of them. The top two drawers, along with underthings, had papers of various types. Insurance paid, cards, receipts, you name it they were in there. As I opened each envelope I would wonder why I had kept these things for so long and it dawned on me that I barely get in those two drawers for this very reason. Now, I’ll be able to use them and won’t have to dread opening the drawers to find my warm house socks or a slip or whatever. The bonus of this purging was when I opened up an envelope that I had put some money in a long time ago. I will deposit it in the bank next time I go to the bank and I felt very blessed as the amount I found was about the same amount I paid for new sewing/embroidery machine. How about that? Cool!!

I shredded and threw away a lot of papers and there were some clothing items I threw away too. I am not done in my bedroom by no means, but each little accomplishment at getting rid of and organizing something makes me feel so much better. I put one of the big garbage containers in my bedroom for the next wave of cleaning, which may be today around my computer desk. I’ve worked and cleaned some on the desk but there is some serious purging needed in, on, and around that area. This wasn’t the room I planned to start in, but it needs it the most, so if my urge is there, I’ll use it.

Stayed out of the sewing room all day yesterday.

Fixed meatloaf and baked potatoes for supper. Excellent if I say so myself. It had been a long time since I’d fixed meatloaf.

I’m also serious about J and I eating healthier meals. He’s not all that keen on my cutting some things down for him, but it will be all good.

It is after 6am so will end this and see if other sites will come up. Sure hope this saves so will copy it before I save it to make sure I don’t lose everything.

Take care and God Bless


Silent Echo/Quiet Storm January 10, 2016

what you need to quit is 13 yo boy who would throw them away every time he found a pack and you weren't around. it got too expensive for kurt to continue cause he kept losing * them. now, he laughs about it.... then.. not so much. I felt so good after the first decluttering project that it motivated me to continue on. as I'm typing this I see* two drawers that need to be cleaned out at home in the living room. take care,

GypsyWynd January 10, 2016

We make a bread called Sally Lunn in the bread machine. It's a delicious soft white bread, and makes fabulous toast.

middle age pearl GypsyWynd ⋅ January 10, 2016

Do you happen to know the recipe for it and would you mind sharing. I was going to Google it however, I can only get here and possibly the other diary site. Not going to make bread again for while so maybe I'll be able to get to Google and actually it will allow me search for Sally Lunn bread recipe.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.