Reality check - the fully clothed version. in Spring time, sunshine and flowers, 2015

  • Jan. 9, 2016, 9:38 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

WHERE: in the living room, sitting on the sofa. I got bored the other day (not running causes boredom) and rearranged the living room furniture, the tv is no longer the focal point. Outside the sky hangs heavily, a hint of sunshine behind the low, slow cloud.

WEARING: jeans, although they’re a tad muddy, non matching socks, a Joe Brown Orange and black swirly tunic, warm sweatshirt. I have three of my four earrings in my left ear as one broke at the hairdresser this morning - a silver dot, silver spiral with a shiny stone and dangly tree of life. My right ear also has a tree of life.

FITNESS UPDATE: I’m moving. Not running but moving. We’re walking to school again on top which I’m in charge of the football pitch at lunchtime at school and I’ve started joining in a little more, running for the ball, tackling and shooting (I became a bit too competitive and sent a 7 year old flying the other day!) I think I’ll be running pretty soon!

IN THE NEWS: I suddenly feel awful as I realise that I haven’t actually seen the news in a couple of days. Apparently Sweden has started requesting passports from visitors from Denmark for the first time in years, Celebrity Big Brother is (apparently, I don’t watch it) full of people who are famous for being on reality shows… There has been a shooting in Egypt and North Korea has, potentially actually tested a nuclear bomb based on seismic readings from the area.

Stop this world I want to get off - but there is no plan(et) B…

READING: now, hmm.... Talaia and I have almost finished Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, Lila and I are reading excerpts from some of her old favourites, I’m reading a book about how music affected a girl as she grew up, although she was a teen in the 70’s as opposed to my 80’s youth so, although I recognise the links between music and maturing (or not!), I don’t have the emotional links to the same bands. I’m also reading Kinsey and Me which is a selection of sort stories by Sue Grafton. I find short stories hard, I can’t get involved because just add it’s getting juicy it stops.

ACTIVITIES TODAY: the girls and I went for haircuts first thing, Talaia and I had trims while Lila had several inches taken off, then Talaia and I made olive, sundried tomato and parmesan puff pastry pin wheels for lunch (they were lovely). Now I’m curled up, considering putting the heating on as my toes are a tad icy. Rich will be going to the ice hockey later while the girls and I watch a movie 😃

THINKING ABOUT: February. I think that February should be banned. I, rather infamously, get into a winter slump annually but it’s February that is the hardest. I wonder if it was chosen as the short month because it’s so shit! Seriously guys, November feels fresh because winter is coming and new seasons are always charged with newness and then December is filled with celebrations - birthdays, advent, Christmas and New Year. January is Rich’s birthday along with our annual pilgrimage up Glastonbury Tor and we’re going for a weekend in Brighton later this month but February; it limps along, cold and dreary, at the end of a winter that is over three and a half months of cold and dreary. It may only last 28 days (29 this year) but those days last 48 hours each, dragging each hour out, holding March and the birth of spring at bay. Spring, now there’s a month to look forward to. Although June is my favourite 😊

PLANNING: a holiday to the Lakes in June, looking into prices at least. It would be nice to walk, hike and maybe swim and boat. Just be free from life in the clean air.


Deleted user January 09, 2016

I am not a huge fan of Feb. either. We usually have blizzards and ice storms then. Happy 2016 !!!

thesunnyabyss January 10, 2016

yeah, February is not a great month,

stay warm!!

Deleted user January 10, 2016

Do you mean the UK lakes district. I always stop by the lakes when I'm in the UK, such a lovely part of the world

ermentrude Deleted user ⋅ January 11, 2016

Yes, the UK Lakes 😃

edna million January 13, 2016

February is THE WORST. I really really hate February. And agree with you about June.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.