Surgeried in (W)hole

  • Jan. 8, 2016, 10:58 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So! I had my tonsils out, I had my septum straightened, and I had my turbinates reduced.

It was not as bad as people made it sound. But it was still pretty awful. I’m not quite 2 weeks post-op, and I feel pretty good. I’m not taking my pain meds much anymore, just usually before dinner and first thing in the morning. The first 4 o 5 days were the worst, because I had to breathe through my mouth and I had a stitch in my nose that NO ONE TOLD ME ABOUT (I actually asked if I had any stitches, and they told me no… but I did.) and these HUMONGOUS splints holding my septum up how its meant to stay. I still have a big nasty scab in the back of my throat on each side, but it mostly only hurts when I yawn, or swallow, or when I have to yell at my horrible children for hours on end.

I dont want to go back to work on Monday. But I’m going.

My Master’s program with Concordia starts on Sunday. I’m slightly terrified. I’ve done a lot of online classes before, and they use the exact same platform (Blackboard) for their online classes that UAF used, so I’m already very accustomed to the way it works and how to use the discussion boards and turn in assignments and how to take quizzes, etc. That’s a benefit. I’m worried about the intensity of the courses. We had to do an Orientation Course, which involved like 6 assignments, one of which was an essay in APA format. I’ve never done anything in APA format to my memory. It went well, though, except apparently my references needed a bit of work. shrug I’ll have to look that up before I try it again, so I know what I did wrong. I thought I followed the format I found, but I added bullet points to divide the listings so you could tell where each one started… but I think I must have done it wrong. Or maybe it was just the bullets. APA seems extremely formal.

I discovered the Gilmore Girls. I’m lost for all of eternity, half way through season 4 at the moment. :) It’s quite lovely. I don’t know how I never saw this before.

I found a place to have Milo’s birthday party, and I’m really excited. There’s a “gravity pit” with climbing ropes and nets and walls that have giant foam pits underneath them, so that you can fall into them. There’s tons of jumping castles and inflatable slides and one of those inflatable games with the rotating stick that you have to jump over, etc etc. It’s called Jump In and I think it’ll be a really good time. To the tune of $185. The place provides tablecloths and plates and napkins and what not, so you have to pick from the themes they provide.. he can either just have balloons/party theme, or he can have Ninja Turtles or Ninjas. :\ I’m not so sure he’ll be thrilled with that, but the only thing I have to buy outside of paying for the party, is the food. They get 2 hours of party time. :) I hope we get lots of kids to come, although the party is technically only for 10, and we have to pay like $12 per extra kid that shows up. I’m going to make fliers and put them in all of the cubbies at Milo’s daycare. Since we don’t know many people and Milo has like… no friends, because he’s a hateful little thing, I really hope some kids show up for him to play with. I don’t want to throw a party with no guests.. although it’s probably more important to me than to Milo, because he just wants to play and he doesn’t really like other children that much. … I just realized I’m insane, why do I do these things? Hahaha

Kasin just wants to have some friends over to the house and have a sleepover. I’m going to drag the big heavy TV out of his room and put that and the Wii out here in the living room alongside our big flatscreen and the xbox, so they can all play lots of video games and hang out. We’ll have pizza and junk food, and everyone will be happy. I suggested a party at this place called Outer Limits, which has lazer tag and arcade games and such, but he was offended at my offer. He said that he does not LIKE those things. lol… whatever.

So there’s birthdays done for another year. I don’t know what to get Kasin. Milo is probaby going to get a CASE of Minecraft blind boxes, because I accidentally ordered a little storage box for Minecraft mini-figs at Xmas, thinking it was for Terraria figures, which Kasin and Milo both got a bunch of. I didn’t read the description very well, apparently. lol Anyhow, Milo LOVES those blind boxes anyways, and I could get him a few other little Minecrafty things and call it a day. Still not sure on Kasin.

Alright, I don’t know what else to talk about. Ross is in Montana at his mom’s house, and apparently he has a trial run at a Conoco station nearby this weekend. Seriously, what a loser. I hang my head when I’m not cradling it in my hands. Just, WHAT is he doing?! He sells himself incredibly short, and he makes the WORST choices. He wont apply anywhere he can’t walk to, because he doesn’t have a car. There’s this funny little thing called a bus… :-|

I staged a movie night with the kids tonight, I found Kung Fu Panda and Megamind in the $5 DVD bin. We previously owned those, and they were loved to death, so I replaced them, and bought freezer pizza and candies for the kids. I was all, aw wont this be nice. AND THEN, they were themselves. Im not sure if it’s just that my two personal children hate each other, or are complete opposites, or what… but they make each other insane and they’re god awful together in the same room. Milo ran around like a lunatic and jumped all over the dogs and staged a Kung Fu fight with them, and then declared himself to be the villain Trylo Sylo Sidekick and decided that he was going to fight police officers and feed them his experiments. All the while, Kasin is shrieking at him to STOP IT AND SIT DOWN AND STOP MAKING NOISE AND SHUT UP AND YOURE A JERK AND YOURE HORRIBLE AND I HATE YOU AND WHY CANT YOU SHUT UP AND WHY DONT YOU SIT DOWN AND WHY CANT YOU STOP. And neither one of them liked the pizza. (Tombstone, what happened to you?!)

The whole scene was god awful. As soon as the second movie was over, I was ready to throw them both in bed and be done with them, but then Kasin asked Milo if he wanted to have a sleepover in his room. Which is always a disaster, I hate it. So I made them both take a melatonin, and Kasin fell asleep immediately and Milo wanted to climb out of Kasin’s bunk beds with ALL of his stuff, and traipse back to his bed once Kasin was asleep, so I let him finish the Scooby Doo DVD they had going in Kasin’s room, and then when it was over I shut off the laptop and he insisted I leave his door open, and he eventually fell asleep. UGH. WHY DO I TRY TO DO NICE THINGS?!

I can’t think of anything else to share with the world wide web, so enjoy my gibbering. :)


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.