5th non-work Day in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • Jan. 8, 2016, 6:08 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

HeeHee. Yes, I think I’m going to very used to this new chapter.

Went to Walmart yesterday and it was much more crowded than I expected. Even the check out person commented on it. Very few checkers and long lines. Only 2 main checkers and a couple for the 20 items or less customers. I use the self check area but had several things (even though milk was the go for item). I spent a couple of hours just looking (cause I could) and I picked out a small foldable table. Oh, wasn’t I surprised when I finally set it up this morning and it’s only about 18-24” high. A mini table I wanted, not so sure about the lack of height. I had intended to use it for a table to cut out fabric, however it did come in very handy and useful while I was using the embroidery machine. When I first put it up, I figured I’d take it back and exchange it for a taller table, however, I used it to sit my laptap on while uploading an embroidery pattern from the DVD and I can put my embroidery thread box on it at the same time. Will see how I feel after a couple of days. I uploaded a giraffe pattern and it is really cute. It will be on the backside of a waterproof changing pad or crib pad.

Also used it to embroider my name on an old sweat shirt of mine. Like it! You don’t see my name on anything anywhere so even at my age it made me smile to see my name on a shirt.

Also embroidered J’s initials on a couple of pieces of fabric that I will intergrate into a new insulated lunch carrier for his birthday. I already purchased the DVDs he asked for so the new lunch carrier will be a bonus. I intend to make it big enough for him to carry his other stuff he usually takes to work. Like…his portable CD player and headphones. And CDs. It may not carry everything now that I think about it, but maybe if I can get the outside pockets to suit him. I have time, so will work on it.

I put a Pike’s Peak roast in the large crock pot yesterday morning. Found a recipe online and it needed to cook on low for 10 hrs. I had the seasonings it called for so had it going at 7:30 yesterday morning. By the time I got back from Walmart and ate a Taco Pizza at Taco Bell it was making the house smell great. Used fresh garlic, mushroom soup, a can of mushrooms, a can of beef stock, sage, salt, pepper and I added some finely chopped onion. Fixed some mashed potatoes to go with it and it was delicious!! Will freeze most of it today to have later for a sandwich or to use in stew. Freezing the juices/broth too as it has the mushrooms in it. Skim the grease off the top and presto!! It should be great in a beef stew or beef with noodles or something with the roast.

I had planned for J and I to get to the Drs office this morning. Not to be as he was not thrilled at going up there. After I made it clear, that this was not a choice but mandatory he fixed his breakfast, even after I told him we could eat at the cafe after the visit. He didn’t care.

So we will try and be up there about 1 or 2. I actually need to go by the home town grocery store as they have chicken breasts on sale. I have a couple other things on the list but shouldn’t be as much as yesterday. I was peeved because I didn’t think I needed white milk but having to use milk to mash the potatoes and some snow in the forecast for tomorrow, I best get some milk.

The predictions of how much snow we’ll get is all over the place. Goes as low as 1” up to 6”. We will and they will know when it quits. I just pray everyone stays safe on the roads.

Time to do something else. Take care and God Bless


Last updated January 08, 2016


GypsyWynd January 08, 2016

I've never heard of a Pike's Peak roast. the recipe sounds delicious.

seafarer January 10, 2016

retirement=the best job you never had!!!! well, that is my theory anyway!!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.