And, Still, Nothing in The Common Room

  • Dec. 17, 2013, 7:51 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Some may remember that when I fell at the end of August, the emergency doctor, looking for broken ribs, discovered a clouding of my left lung, which he diagosed as pneumonia. After antibiotics, it was still there. After another month, still there. After an extended period of searching out and acquiring an appointment with a pulmonologist, and more xrays, still no diagnosis. I recently had a CAT scan. Still no diagnosis. The right lung is "text book normal." The first third of the left lung is "normal" the bottom two-thirds is "visibility zero" like a thick light gray fog. On the 30th of December (when the blood thinner has left my body) I will have a biopsy. A camera will go into my lung to guide the process. The pulmonologist says there are several hundred things that it could be, but that he needs to SEE and to get a sample of whatever's there. The man seems knowledgeable and logical. What more can I say. My breathing is increasingly a problem. I do not deal well with uncertainty. I report this only because old readers have asked what is happening.


Deleted user December 17, 2013

I was going to ask also, why there haven't been any entries from you in a while. My God, that sounds scary what you're going through! But how, if you don't mind my asking, do they get a camera into your lungs??? Please tell me you will not be awake when they do, however they do it!

~Katherine December 18, 2013

Oh, I wouldn't be dealing well with this kind of uncertainty either. I have you bookmarked and will be hoping to hear that is something which can be treated and healed.

Eriu December 19, 2013

Uncertainty is awful. I hope the tests find what's wrong, the docs fix it, and that soon you're healed, happy, and healthy!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.