The "Looking Back on 2015" survey in survey time

  • Jan. 7, 2016, 3:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I did this one last year about this time, so think I’ll do it again. Always good to have a review of the year. And always good to get the new year off to a writing start.

What did you do in 2015 that you have never done before?
I took a jewelry class. I took TWO jewelry classes, actually, both through the Craft Enrichment program at the university. First was “Beginning Jewelry” and the second was “Advanced Jewelry”. I LOOOOVED them! And they really catapulted me into jewelry making, which is something I’ve been interested in for, oh, EVER. Seriously - I still have supplies that I bought during the 80s. I’ve always had periods of renewed interest in it, and I’ll make some stuff, then, since I have the attention span of a butterfly (Gemini!!!), I’ll get interested in something else and drop it again. But taking the classes gave me some proper instruction and more confidence and now I’m quite hooked and have made a bunch of stuff (and started posting pictures here ages ago– then quit! Another thing to renew). My next step is to put it on Etsy. Hopefully that will happen soon. Anyhow, that was the big thing I’d never done.

Did you keep your New Year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
Well, amusingly enough, my answer would be the exact same thing as my answer was for 2015: “This is quite funny (or quite tragic), because I just read through my paper journal on New Years Eve, and last year I had this small and reasonable list of things I planned to do.... And..... I did not achieve one. NOT ONE!! I totally and completely failed at EVERY SINGLE GOAL!!!! “

Again, I read through my paper journal on New Years Eve and again I did not accomplish any of my goals! Didn’t start getting more exercise. Didn’t lose any weight. Didn’t cut down on the beer (which would result in losing all the weight I need to lose, as it’s not THAT much and my beer consumption is just enough to keep me at a higher level than I’d like to be). Didn’t work on serious writing! Didn’t declutter the house!!!! Go me!!!!!!!!!!!

What I DID do in preparation for this year is buy a planner. I know, I know ---- I always firmly believe that the only thing I need for an explosion of accomplishments is THE RIGHT PLANNER. And so I am always buying planners and oddly enough they don’t do all the stuff I need to do for me, so I end up continuing to lie on the couch drinking beer and mindlessly surfing the internets. But this one is really interesting and quite different. It focuses on making goals each week that are steps towards what you’re wanting to accomplish, and has a zillion spots to write stuff in which I always loooove. It seems like a really good way to bypass my lifelong bad habit of deciding I will do a thing and then never doing it because .... I’m waiting for it to do itself, I suppose.

It’s called The Spark Planner, and I got it from a Kickstarter campaign. Another thing I’ve never done! I kept seeing ads for it on Facebook and since it was a complex unique planner of course I had to check it out. Anyhow, part of the process is considering what you wanted to do last year and how you succeeded or not, and what you want to do this year, and thinking through it as well as writing about it so that is kind of my point. I feel much more like I may actually make some progress this year due to actual.... PLANNING. Because I do not plan. I never ever plan and that, in a nutshell, is why I never make much progress in anything. (checking the link, it’s for the Spark Notebook. The Spark Planner is… sold out. Although they may end up with extras. I think the notebook is very similar to the planner, but not pre-dated.)

Did anyone close to you give birth?
Not this year.

Did anyone close to you die?
One of my best friends from childhood’s mom died last year. I knew her most of my life, and she was really good friends with my mom, so she was like an aunt when I was growing up. I spent a lot of time at their house, which I thought was the coolest house ever back then. At one time they’d had quite a lot of money, and this house was SO great- it seemed very old, although I don’t think it actually is THAT old, and it had all these weird teeny mysterious rooms all over the place. It had a little library on one end with a spiral staircase up to the next floor, a dumbwaiter, a teeny door that led to a well, and a music room with a balcony and its own teeny kitchen! She was a classically trained singer and sang professionally before she married.

Odd I’m talking more about the house than Mrs. P. Anyhow, I was very fond of her, and she was one of those people who never ever changed. The last time I saw her was at my mom’s funeral, and she looked EXACTLY like she had when I was a kid. And when I heard that she’d passed away, despite the fact that she was 90, I was shocked. It was hard to believe she could just stop being here, weirdly enough.

What countries did you visit?
None at all. We’d planned a trip to England for last summer, but had to postpone, sadly. Till this summer, then postponed again till 2017. Stupid money.

What would you like to have in 2016 that you didn’t have in 2015?
More money. And a new house!!! That might actually happen in 2016. A new-to-us house, not a NEW house. A house that’s not my current house.

What was your biggest achievement of the year?
I think it would have to be the leap into jewelry-making, since that’s pretty much my ONLY achievement.

What was your biggest failure?
Everything else I planned to accomplish.

Did you suffer any illness or injury?
I had a terrible – virus maybe, it seemed way worse than a cold. I was fevery and achy and wiped out and could barely get off the couch for days. I actually called in sick to work three days, which NEVER happens. It took like a MONTH to really feel normal again. That was about this time last year. Hopefully I’ve had my sickness for this year- I caught a nasty cold from my SIL last week and felt terrible on New Years eve and New Years day and for a couple of days afterwards. I don’t get sick often at all so maybe that will be it.

Where did most of your money go?
A furnace, a heat pump, new gutters. Bills, groceries, kerosene. Fire Mountain for jewelry making supplies. The usual.

What do you wish you’d done less of?
Same as last year- lying on the couch moping and drinking beer and meandering aimlessly online.

What do you wish you’d done more of?
Serious writing, exercise, other creative things. At least I did make jewelry!

How did you spend Christmas?
In Charleston! Yay!!!! I swear I’ll post pictures soon.

What was your favorite TV show?
I think that would have to be Broadchurch, which I absolutely loved and can’t wait till the next season airs. Also really liked Mr. Selfridge. We discovered Eight Out Of Ten Cats Does Countdown, yet another British show, which appears to be a mashup of the original Eight Out Of Ten Cats, a panel show about – I think– statistics, merged with Countdown. I’ve never seen Countdown, but this involves making words out of a group of letters and coming up with a specific number out of a group of numbers. Yes, that probably sounds less than thrilling, but we really enjoyed it. It was hilarious.

Upon reflection, I don’t think we watched anything BUT British TV. Would I Lie To You (another hilarious panel show), Luxury Comedy (Noel Fielding!! Bizarre and surreal and wouldn’t have gotten one episode here but managed two seasons there), Shetland, Hinterland, (police mysteries I watched on my own because apparently I like police mysteries) … OH, Luther, speaking of weird excellent disturbing Police shows – what DID we watch that was American??? Maybe the next-to-most-recent episode of Big Bang Theory. OH!! Fargo! That was REALLY good.

OH!! Latest love, which I got Baker B hooked on too - Outnumbered. I’d never heard of it, but saw it on Acorn as a “going away soon” show (which ended up being on Hulu too and not going away at all). I started watching it quite recently and talked Baker B into giving it a shot. Basically it’s about a couple in London and their three kids. Their three weird kids. Well, the oldest one is kind of the straight man, but the middle one is a danger-addicted habitual liar and the youngest is .... bizarre. And hysterical. Apparently the kids all got to improvise their lines, making them a lot funnier than child actors usually are. As an illustration, here is Karen explaining a drawing she’s done.

Sadly - and inevitably - the kids aren’t nearly as funny during the last season, where they are teens and a pre-teen. But it’s still a good show, kind of about nothing.

So yes, again I have spent my year watching TV.

What was your favorite film this year?
We hardly ever watch movies anymore, which is really strange. I think TV shows have taken over. We did actually GO TO THE THEATER, though, and saw The Martian when it came out, and it was REALLY good. So was the book, which I’d already read. The only other movie I can even remember seeing was What We Do In The Shadows – three vampire roommates navigating modern times. It was absolutely hysterical, and oddly sweet. Starring Jemaine Clement from Flight of the Conchords.

How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2015?
Hahahahahaha!! Fashion concept!! Ummmm… hobo with ADD?? Middle Aged Woman With Clothes Spanning Three Decades, Non Of Which Fit Properly??? Whatever Isn’t Wadded Up In A Pile On The Floor, Or If It Is, Can At Least Be Salvaged With Wrinkle Release Spray???? Oh, if only I had a fashion concept. Maybe that should be another goal for 2016.

What are your greatest hopes for 2016?
That it leaves me with more positive answers for this survey than 2015 did.


Last updated January 07, 2016


noko January 08, 2016

The cats would really like it if I would stay put and watch more television. I've watched less in the last year than since I was a teenager and didn't have one. You'll have to share what you have been reading. It is so cool that you are enjoying the jewelry making so much. Do you ever listen to Podcasts? That is my big thing this last year, I think because I can move around doing stuff while I listen to them. As I get older I find that a year where nothing much happened is a very good year indeed. Still, I hope you all are able to get back to England soonish.

edna million noko ⋅ January 08, 2016

I do listen to podcasts when I walk - which hasn't been as much as it needs to be lately. And, of course, what I listen to is mostly British comedy. But it does make the time fly!

Lyn January 08, 2016

This was fun with a lot of stuff.

May 2016 treat you well!

edna million Lyn ⋅ January 08, 2016

And you too!

Deleted user January 12, 2016

Why am I not seeing your postings ??? Waaaaugh ! I have you marked, " follow " and " Friend" . So frustrating! Like this ! Happy New year !!!!

edna million Deleted user ⋅ January 12, 2016

Weird! I've had that happen too, and couldn't figure out why.

edna million Deleted user ⋅ January 12, 2016

Well, here is an example -- I follow Marg and just realized she's made several updates in the past few weeks, and I did not see them today when I looked at my bookmarks. No idea why not!!

Deleted user edna million ⋅ January 12, 2016

I am just starting to realize there are a lot of friends postings I do not see unless I go searching for them :-( No wonder people here get upset when they feel they do not get the feedback here that they got on OD. There must be a trick to it ..

Deleted user January 12, 2016

Can you believe The Martian won Golden Globes " Best Comedy" ? I really did not get it . Yes, there was humor but I could not say it was primarily a comedy !

edna million Deleted user ⋅ January 12, 2016

I'm glad it's not just me who is astonished at that category! It was quite funny in spots, but I'd never for a second consider it a comedy. Maybe they saw a different movie than we did!

Deleted user edna million ⋅ January 12, 2016

I was shocked !

Spinster January 18, 2016

I'm surprised by the jewelry making. I never knew you were crafty.

edna million Spinster ⋅ January 21, 2016

That's pretty much the only thing I'm crafty with-- I usually don't have the patience for anything crafty, but oddly have lots of patience with jewelry.

Marg March 11, 2016

There's Wrinkle Release Spray??

I think one of your resolutions should be to do a lot more lying on the couch drinking beer, surfing the Net mindlessly while watching British TV shows. There. Sorted! (And I love the Planning Notebook). Just the sort of thing I'd buy. And fill in religiously. But not do the stuff in it.

edna million Marg ⋅ April 23, 2016

So far, so good! Still lying on the couch while drinking beer and watching TV/surfing the webs! I do still like the planning notebook, although of course I keep ignoring it.

Wrinkle Release Spray may be the best invention EVER. Here it's made by Downy, and you just spray your clothes with it, and tada!!! Wrinkles vanish!! It's a little hard to find, oddly - Target (I think the equivalent of your Tescos/Asda) has it, and one drugstore. OH, and of course Amazon has it - http://www.amazon.com/Downy-Wrinkle-Releaser-33-8oz-trigger/dp/B00JKSYPNQ I've never thought to check Amazon! It's a little pricey but lasts a long time.

Marg edna million ⋅ April 27, 2016

Ooo will have to check that out. I have to say I always now quickly crumple up the material of anything I'm looking at in the shops to see if it'll crease easily first before I try it on - a tip I got from a friend who made all her own clothes and knew all the materials likely to crease. I could never remember all of them so she told me she does this when she's shopping and I've covertly done it ever since. Certainly saves a lot of hassle!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.