Brainstorming my computer! in Majimaze Musing!

  • Jan. 5, 2016, 9:40 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well readers,I have just done about 2 days of getting my computer back from the brink!On the weekend I discovered I was the victim of a computer virus.Everytime I turned on my computer, a window would come up saying cryptowall with 2 other windows with instructions.I wasn’t happy about the whole thing so googled it and found out it was a trojan virus which would take over all my files!Luckily I hadn’t clicked on it.So I got to work destroying the beastie.I put through a malware to specify where it was and what to do about it and I finally got rid of it after about 3 hours of really hard work in a rather peculiar territory.No,That wasn’t the end.In its wake,it had replaced my usual search engine ,google chrome,with something called’chrome extension’ which obliterated all my passwords to all my sites!So I googled,chrome extension!I found out that this particular virus even after being got rid of,leaves all your sites needing new passwords!Aargh!This included my mail,FB,Prosebox,banks etc.Do you think I could remember all my passwords?Not a hope!So I had to reset passwords!PROBLEM:My email needed new password and the sites sent the instructions to my email!I reopened my gmail,however,the sites refused to send to gmail,besides,gmail didn’t have all my contacts.Well,I got FB back, as you can give your mobile number for that,and that is all.So this morning I rang tech support on my internet provider and managed to get that working again and reset all my sites and I found that because I was still using Internet Explorer with Google chrome,once I went to Google Chrome exclusively all those sites have been updated and are quite different and very posh in comparison!So,all is well.It sure got me stirred up tho!My nearly 72 year old brain was working overtime and got overheated once or twice.I am very proud of myself as I fixed it all myself!
I went to see Polz(GS) yesterday morning after I had gone to the Library.We had a great time and I eat all her bikkies,and we solved world problems(I wish!) and then I was waiting at the bus-stop when my (ex) son-in-law, Chris pulled up and offered me a ride.He and second daughter Penny split up 4 years ago,and I don’t often see him out of the company of Penny and the children,so it was really nice in a way.We kept the conversation sort of safe, and it was a pleasant trip!He is a nice man and a very good Dad to my grandies and fault was on both sides although for ages I was very angry with him then got over myself!The breakup was followed by my daugher nearly dying as she had a blood clot go through her heart as a result of stress.She is absolutely fine now and as I said,I got over myself!
Polz garden is looking beautiful colourful.She is one great gardener and craftsperson!
Well,I had better finish this now,and take the poochie for a walk!Hope I didn’t bore you to tears with the ‘journey around my computer!’ Lots of love and keep smiling
Majimazexxxxxx
.


GypsyWynd January 05, 2016

You're brave to have tackled eradicating the virus by yourself!

crystal butterfly January 09, 2016

What a mess. I'm glad it is all fixed. I have a notebook with all my passwords. Not safe but sure helps because some sites I don't use often enough to remember the password.

crystal butterfly January 11, 2016

I saw on Polly's diary that you had a birthday? Happy birthday.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.