Prosebox, now with AUTOSAVE HAPPINESS! in Site Updates

  • Dec. 17, 2013, 3:41 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

OK, I must admit that I'm pretty excited about this one...

Prosebox entry and book forms now have autosave! YES! I removed the little warning box that pops up if you accidentally leave the page without saving, because now you are covered. Just return to the Write Entry page, and voila! Right where you left off. No muss, no fuss.

So if you want to leave and come back, without even saving a draft, life is good. If your browser crashes, you're good. Computer crashes and your whole hard drive doesn't melt down, you're still good.

That's the idea, anyway.

One concern I still have is people complaining about being logged off in the middle of their session and bouncing back to the login screen. In that case, this may not work. Otherwise, this should be a really nice safety net.

Enjoy!

(should work with all modern browsers, pretty much anything IE8 or beyond - oh yeah and you need Javascript enabled, but you need that for other site functionality as well)

EDIT - Just caught and fixed a bug where editing entries was screwed up by this update. Should hopefully be good now.


*Mrs_Bolen* December 17, 2013

Awesome! Thank you for an amazing site!

Deleted user December 17, 2013

Nice! Thanks!

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm December 17, 2013

this site is getting better and better every week. take care,

Deleted user December 17, 2013

yes love this one! thank you!

Meginsanity December 17, 2013

Awesome!

.Java.Junkie. December 17, 2013

Thank you for your continued handwork in making such a wonderful site for all of us :) YOU ROCK!!

Mum of Yum December 17, 2013

We're all very grateful!

Phade December 17, 2013

+1000

Deleted user December 17, 2013

Great! Thanks.

Lepetit pumpkinesque December 17, 2013

Awesome!!!!

Leanne 🌈 December 17, 2013

Awesome as always many thanks.

Cat Mommy December 17, 2013

Very nice except when I go to edit an older entry it doesn't bring up that entry, it brings up whatever I saved last. Not so useful.

simple mind Cat Mommy ⋅ December 17, 2013

Hmmm. Will have to look at that. Thanks for the heads up.

simple mind Cat Mommy ⋅ December 17, 2013

OK that was an ugly little bug. Fixed, I think. Give it a go now. :)

Cat Mommy simple mind ⋅ December 17, 2013

Excellent! Thanks!

patrisha December 17, 2013

A very useful feature. Thanks!

edna million December 17, 2013

VERY nice-- thanks!!

Dictynna December 17, 2013

Brilliant - nice work! :)

Deleted user December 17, 2013

You continue to rock, m'lord!

sassafras December 18, 2013

omg. I love you.

BSC12MD December 18, 2013

Good job! Auto save is the best. I would use google docs and then copy over to your website, now I feel safe just coming to you direct

Life Is For Living December 18, 2013

Bookmarks are updated! Thank you SO much! That was seriously the only thing I have been awaiting on here. You rock, Sir! Happy Holidays! ^_^

simple mind Life Is For Living ⋅ December 18, 2013

You too! :)

RoseS December 19, 2013

I came to cheer the shaded "read" bookmarks too! Thanks for all your hard work!

Finn December 19, 2013

Awesome, awesome "read" shading and "unread" designation. They're so helpful! Thank you!

Sagittarienne December 19, 2013

I just accidentally closed my browser before finishing my entry.

For me, the draft did not seem to save. :(

(which is a bummer, because when I realized my error I was excited that it would maybe still be there!!)

simple mind Sagittarienne ⋅ December 19, 2013

Did you return to the write entry page? (assuming it's a new entry that had never been saved)

Sagittarienne simple mind ⋅ December 19, 2013

I did, a couple times now. Unfortunately, no dice.

(Im not upset, its my own fault. lol. Just wanted to make you aware that its possibly not working like planned)

simple mind Sagittarienne ⋅ December 19, 2013

Well, I'm just curious why it didn't work. My goal is to make it (mostly) impossible to lose an entry someday. A couple of things to check...

First of all, it has to be the same browser and device you typed your entry into. Second, if you typed something into www.prosebox.net, and then came back to prosebox.net (without the www), that could be a reason. Again, I know you aren't freaking out about it, but I'm curious if it's still there... somewhere. :)

Sagittarienne simple mind ⋅ December 19, 2013

I just now tested it with a jibberish entry, to see if it saved. The first time I had an entry with no title. This time I gave it a title to see if that made a difference. (no difference)

Sagittarienne December 19, 2013

Im on the same computer. Ive tried both www.prosebox.net and without the www. I cant remember which I was on when typing originally, so I tried both.

Ive also tried changing the book within the "write" page, but that makes no difference.

simple mind Sagittarienne ⋅ December 19, 2013

Bummer. What browser are you using?

Sagittarienne simple mind ⋅ December 19, 2013

Mozilla Firefox. Im at work, so Im in a "private window"...could that make a difference?

simple mind Sagittarienne ⋅ December 19, 2013

Ahhhhh yes. The autosave uses local browser storage. When you use a private window that creates temporary storage that disappears when you close the browser. OK, makes sense now.

Sagittarienne simple mind ⋅ December 19, 2013

Thank you!! :)

Soul Karma December 20, 2013

This is... the most mind-numbingly exciting entry I've read today!
Bless you and your "chirren," m'lord.

Jack January 17, 2014

I recommend that instead of fixing bugs, you step on them and destroy them like the vermin they are!

Anne freeman February 01, 2014

At last here I am back where I needed to be a brand new diary and a whole lot of wonderful people to befriend hope someone here remembers me Anne freeman and my cheryl Anne mortimer smiles grandaughterxxxxxxx

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.