Flood update in Hello.

  • Jan. 2, 2016, 4:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I know I’ve had Christmas and New year and everything, but I’m just going to use this to update on the house situation.
It’s still weird. The river is still really up, but is slowly going down, meaning that today is the first day in ages we’ve moved the bikes from the living room back into the garage.
It still stinks. The walls are still holding water, but because of Frank, we decided to put the dehumidifier upstairs in the girls’ room, just in case we flooded again. My lungs are really not happy. I’ve never been sickly, I’ve never had much by way of allergies or asthma, but I’ve had a horrible niggly cough. This directly correlates with mold appearing on the walls in the bedrooms and at work. I’ve since found out that fungal blooms occur when the walls are starting to dry out and the fungus is trying to spread. I’ve tried my hardest to contain it, using vinegar to clean it and tomorrow the clove oil is going on, but it appears I am sensitive to it. :/
The other day at work, I was kneeling on the floor, looking through the cupboard, when I started coughing. It’s not just cough cough cough, it’s that horrible kind where you can’t get your breath. Like coooooooooouuuuuughhhh, coooooouuuuuuggghhh, etc. A customer suggested I should be at home, not working and I told her that home was causing it. She turned to her friend and said “oh, the poor thing....you don’t think of the on going effects, do you?” So I told her she was making me feel like a Victorian child, haha!
It doesn’t help that we’ve now no tumble drier, so the clothes have to be hung in the house.
We’ve also got no neighbours right now, which is really spooky. We’ve heard about looters and are having to keep our doors locked all the time, which I’m not used to. There’s also loads of piles of rubbish and building materials up and down our street. With a distinct lack of cats right now, I do wonder if we’ll also start getting rats.
It’s funny, people think you get flooded, you clear up, that’s it. Unless you’re actually involved, it’s hard to fathom. My parents, who live a five minute walk away (I can walk from theirs to mine in the time it takes for me to listen to Bridge Burning by Foo Fighters, ironically) might as well live a thousand miles away right now due to the two bridges to get to the other side of the Derwent being down. I can get to theirs via a three mile one way journey along a main road, which is no fun on foot, or travel a bit further along a cycle path, which is about five miles. There is a bus, but that only runs during office hours. I’m ok, I’m in town, but they’re isolated on the other side of the river. It’s playing on my mam’s mind, I know it is.
On the plus side, I’ve just found out we’re to get a £500 grant from the council.


Last updated January 02, 2016


puffin January 02, 2016

Where are the cats??!
That is good advice in the note above.
Sincerely hope the river stays down and you can continue to work towards getting your life back in order xx

Babe In Toyland puffin ⋅ January 02, 2016

They've gone with their owners.......I hope!

Deleted user January 03, 2016

You are right, people don't even think about the devastation the flooding has caused afterwards :-( x

Miso Honey January 03, 2016

I just found out about this recently. I am so sorry that this has happened to you. Good luck with all the challenges that lay ahead.
hugs

Lucretia January 04, 2016

I got flooded once in Newcastle, that was a basement flat and it just wouldn't dry out! Mold ruined half my possessions, it was awful. I really feel for you and your family. I hope things start to pick up for you x

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.