Happy New Years!! 2016 in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • Jan. 1, 2016, 5:55 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Wow! Just wow. Yesterday was awesome and everything I hoped. Total joy when I turned in my final paperwork and head off post. No tears, no regrets, nothing but absolute happiness and relief!!! AND it got better. I received the email that my new embroidery sewing machine was ready for pickup!! Oh my. The joy and happiness was over the top. I did pick it up but it is not opened. Just home. Where I am. Ready for me and I’m ready for it. Will read up on it and found a you tube video Wed evening about it so it is bookmarked.

Our traditional fried pork jowl, black-eyed peas, coleslaw dinner is most important today with my family. I cooked the black-eyed peas last night, made the cranberry salad, and baked an angel food cake. Took out the frozen strawberries from my little strawberry patch and will get them sugared a bit in a few minutes. They should have thawed out in the fridge overnight. If not, no big deal. My house, well my house. I’ll do some quick putting away of some straggling stuff but other than that the day is on. I will shred the coleslaw in a bit and since I decided decided to make home made mac n cheese to accompany the meal, I’ll cook the macaroni in a bit too and get the cheeses melted and ready to pop in the oven. I think I’m going to use the bread maker to make a loaf of bread. Cornbread is the main bread for black-eyed peas, but Dude and Dad both asked me about bread or rolls, so I’ll let the bread maker do the work. I just need to get the stuff in it to start.

Not that I mind, however, I’m a bit tired of cooking for a crowd, but after today, not hosting anything until spring. Maybe Easter!! Oh and Jacob’s birthday the end of this month, but for whatever reason, that is different cause a LOT of time we have snow either predicted or on the ground. Not always, but enough for me to not get too carried away. Besides all the big kids work, so it is usually just A and Owen and my dad for a meal.

I’m rambling and however my right is situated in making my fingers go numb and not liking that feeling.

Have a WONDERFUL NEW YEAR DAY!! God Bless


Silent Echo/Quiet Storm January 01, 2016

so glad you are finally officially retired. after a while you'll wonder how you managed to fit work into your busy life! enjoy. take care,

GypsyWynd January 01, 2016

Congratulations!! Retired AND your new machine in the same day! Wow, indeed.
Your New Year's meal sounds delicious.

Deleted user January 01, 2016

I can feel your excitement for this passage to retirement. :-)

aunty EM January 01, 2016

Happy New Year.

crystal butterfly January 01, 2016

For J's birthday just tell everyone you are starting a new tradition. Everyone is to bring their favorite pizza and you'll provide the cake.

middle age pearl crystal butterfly ⋅ January 02, 2016

That's funny cause J told me last night that he wanted pizza for his birthday. And bread sticks. lol

seafarer January 03, 2016

so happy for you!!!!!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.