Another year over... in The Long and Winding Road

  • Dec. 31, 2015, 8:22 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The years fly by faster and faster, the older I get. I feel like I’ve hardly gotten used to writing “2015” on my checks!

Facebook inspired me to do a little bit of a Year in Review, so I went through my calendar and came up with what is, to me, an amazing list. I never would have imagined some of this stuff and it makes me realize what a good life I have, overall. I hear so many people say things like “I’m ready to get this year over with”. I understand that feeling but really, for most of us there were more good things than bad in the year, and we’re lucky to have lived long enough to experience 2015, and that’s what I choose to focus on. So here are some of my highlights:

  • It started off with our heartbreaking last minute loss of the Superbowl. It still hurts, to be honest.
  • I got my new screen door installed on the door to my balcony
  • Went to a fun “Corks & Canvas” painting event with Hilary. The painting we did is still hanging on the wall in my hallway and I still smile at the memory of the fun we had.
  • Josie was born!
  • Addi had his first birthday
  • I got a portable air conditioner installed in my living room. Yay!
  • Went to a fun cooking class with Michael
  • Had a fabulous vacation in a beach-front house in Yachats on the Oregon coast
  • Had a wonderful family day gathering for a crawfish boil at a New Orleans restaurant in downtown Seattle, for Mother’s Day
  • Had the horrendous water leak in my kitchen that led to several months of not being able to use the kitchen, but also netted me new countertops and backsplash and all new flooring in the non-carpeted areas of my home!
  • Went to Iceland on my first vacation with Sarah, David and Addison
  • Josie came home to me!
  • Went through a fun series of dog training classes with Josie
  • Went to a chocolate candy making class with Sarah
  • Got my big flat screen TV mounted on my living room wall
  • Went to a fused glass jewelry making class
  • Went through hypnotherapy
  • Had a fun day seeing “My Fair Lady” at the Village Theater with good friends, then dinner afterwards
  • My beloved Dad passed away
  • Because of my dad’s passing, I got a week off with pay without using vacation days or sick days, took a trip to New Orleans, had valuable and precious time with my family
  • Had a most wonderful Christmas
  • Got a new dining room set

As I said, overall, not such a bad year! Today I’m one of the few people who is working; we’re scheduled to work all day although there’s always the chance we’ll close a little early – not planning on it though. I’ll probably start taking down my Christmas decorations tonight, because I know how to do New Year’s Eve up right!!

Not sure if I mentioned it, but Josie has been having excessive episodes of “reverse sneezing”, which sounds like honking. It’s very common, especially in small dogs, and it isn’t anything to worry about, nor is any treatment necessary – usually. But usually, they only do it occasionally, especially when they get excited. For the last week or so she’s been doing it a LOT. She will go several hours without doing it, then suddenly she’ll do it 5-6 times in a row every 10 minutes or so for half an hour. So I took her to the vet yesterday. They ruled out a respiratory infection, though that doesn’t mean she isn’t working her way towards one. For now they’ve started her on Benadryl, and unless she develops signs of a respiratory infection, there is no reason to delay the teeth extractions she is scheduled for next week under anesthesia. While they have her under anesthesia they will look up her nose with a scope, to see if possibly she has nasal mites, which are very very hard to see with the naked eye. They also will put a mirror down her throat to see if she has a blade of grass or something like that stuck in her throat. If they don’t find anything and if the Benadryl doesn’t help, I don’t know what comes next. Supposedly the “reverse sneezing” isn’t harmful to her, but it IS stressful for her and therefore, for me. Not to mention the loss of sleep when she gets started doing it at 3:30 on the morning and is curled up next to me on bed for comfort.

And so this year will end without a lot of fanfare, and with the usual day to day things of life happening – good and bad. I wish for each of you a happy 2016 – may good things happen, may you love, and laugh a lot, and may your troubles be not more than you can bear. I am happy to have shared our journeys through 2015 and look forward to making new memories in 2016. Happy New Year!


NorthernSeeker December 31, 2015

You did do a lot this year...and thanks for writing about it here and including all of the excellent photos. Happy New Year!

GypsyWynd December 31, 2015

I never heard of reverse sneezing before. How odd. I hope they find some simple, easily fixed explanation.
Happy New Year!

Just Annie January 01, 2016

Happy New Year!

plushcreep January 04, 2016

2015 was about a million times better for me than 2014. Here's hoping to good health and prosperity for both of us this year!

Deleted user January 07, 2016

I wish I could do that year in review but I do not think I can even remember. I should try though ! Yours is excellent !

living the good life February 15, 2016

I am new to Prose box and have read some of your writings. I would like to be your friend here so I can keep up with what you write.

Anaiss living the good life ⋅ February 15, 2016

Hi - I've added you to my friends list. Thanks for reaching out. I've had to get started on a diary that way too, and it's still a good idea to reach out every now and then as friends come and go here. Looking forward to reading your entries and getting to know you.

Deleted user May 27, 2016

Where did you go ? I don't see your entries anymore :-(

Anaiss Deleted user ⋅ May 27, 2016

I'm so glad you left me a note -- I just checked, and for some reason, you were no longer designated as a "friend" and I was no longer "following" you. That's bizarre because I never made that change. Makes me wonder if it's happened with anyone else. Anyway I've re-added you.

Deleted user Anaiss ⋅ May 29, 2016

Thanks !!! I was missing you !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.