Flooded in in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • Dec. 29, 2015, 7:49 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, the rain finally stopped. The temperatures are hovering at the freezing mark and most all of the roads, highways, and even interstate is closed this morning. Work has issued a 2 hr delay but unless the river drops quickly, which it can, I won’t be going to work again today. My alternate route out of the valley, is also flooded. LOTS of flooding in our county and state. A lot of mess to clean up after the waters recede. My little leak is nothing compared to some of the damages done and the lives lost during this abundance of rain.

I did figure out why I have the water leaks and I think it will be something I can fix and prevent from happening again. Gutters overflowing into the house. Humph. Being in the middle of the woods can have its drawbacks too.

I had high hopes of working on my sewing room yesterday, but my phone kept me from accomplishing a lot. It will be okay and I’ll give it another try today. If not, I’ll tackle it another day.

Hope I can get out of here to get the traditional jowl (like bacon) for New Year’s dinner. I have everything else for the meal except the main dish. I would hope that the waters will get back in their banks by the afternoon of tomorrow. Guess time will tell. Time usually does.

My employee that retires on the 31st of this month called me to make sure I knew the highway was closed that he and I would have taken to work this morning. I knew. He said he may take another route in, but I won’t. It is really a long and winding way and I’m not familiar with it so I’m not going to try it. My luck, I’d get lost and have to turn around anyway or get into a place I shouldn’t. There are so few routes left open that maybe I could just get in the “traffic” on a secondary road and end up somewhere. lol Naw. Not doing it. I was really counting on the extra money for vacation days, but it will be fine. I’ve seen God take my life and my fiances to places I would never have dreamed so will just let Him do His thing and know it is for the best.

We think our Big Kitty has crossed over the rainbow bridge. Haven’t seen him for several days and there is another sign that has to do with a smell under A’s trailer. I really hope it isn’t but I fear the worst. He will be very very missed but then again, he may show up in a few more days asking for a meal.

Take care and God Bless. I am so very thankful we didn’t lose power during this rain dump as several did. Stay safe where ever you travel and where ever you live.


Silent Echo/Quiet Storm December 29, 2015

probably best you stay home today. don't need to get out in that. take care,

GypsyWynd December 29, 2015

Sorry to read about the flooding. Good idea to stay home and safe.

aunty EM December 29, 2015

There is something to be said for "storm days", especially when one has all those new Christmas presents to play with...

seafarer December 30, 2015

I do hope your kitty is ok... such a sweet baby!!!
Do hope the water has lowered and you will be able to get out... love you, friend!

crystal butterfly December 30, 2015

I'm glad you stayed home where you are safe.

~Harmonie~ December 31, 2015

Glad you are safe!!! There is flooding where I lived in AL too which is really unusual for the mountain. Cant wait to get moved so I can get back to sewing! Hugs,M

Writing To Escape January 03, 2016

You're still as impressive as ever Pearl. How you find hope in every difficult situation is always impressive and inspirational.

I hope you, your family and especially your big kitty is well.

All the best,
G

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.