Maybe funny, maybe not... in The start of something?

  • Dec. 27, 2015, 6:29 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s kind strange, me writing about this, because I have usually been a non drinker. I once did “Dry July” to raise money but I didn’t drink anyway so I didn’t really sacrifice anything!

I was the one who’d be tipsy on half a glass of anything.....

Lately I’ve become quite the little drinker and most of it seems to be done on my own. I’m not even sure why I’m doing it. Maybe it’s just that it’s Summer.. For some reason when it’s a nice sunny day, and especially if I’m listening to some south American Latin rhythm, I crave a Sangria. I’ve been buying more alcohol than ever before.

Before, I’d have a cask wine sitting in the pantry for months and months. I use it to make Sangria or to just mix with lemonade… These days it won’t last a month and it only lasts that long because I’ve been buying bottles of Moscato and red wines as well.

So how much am I drinking? I don’t really know but last night we were at a belated xmas party and hubby realised I’d drunk a whole bottle of moscato by myself. He said “do you realise you’ve just had that whole bottle???” and I said. “Yeah so?” Not really seeing the big deal… but then he said “have you done that before?” and I realised that yes, I have done that before and usually, or mostly, by myself. I just like drinking it.
I’ve currently got a bottle of irish whiskey at the back of the pantry because I want to be the only one to enjoy that… that may last the week.

But when I think of an alcoholic, I don’t think of someone who has a glass or two (mixed) a day, then maybe a couple more on the weekend. I think of someone who has a couple of bottles a day.. who HAS to have it. I don’t HAVE to have it. I can go without.

I think what prompted this entry was it’s been four days of excess and today I was going to go without but I’ve just done my normal 24kms and was thinking I’d love to sit on my balcony and have a drink......
I grabbed a coffee instead…

I’ve put alcohol type meme’s on facebook for a while and those that knew me knew I was putting that up because I was actually the opposite of that. I always said I liked the idea of alcohol (good times) But could never stomach to drink it.... I’m pretty sure those days are gone because I like the idea of it and I can stomach more and more of it.

I’m probably making too much out of it but if anyone has experience or an opinion on what I’ve written I’d be interested to hear it.


caramelchicken December 27, 2015

Hmm, it's something to be mindful of I guess, so you can make sure you don't keep drinking more and more. I hardly used to drink at all until I met and especially then lived with Bob, so I get your concern as someone who never really used to drink but can now polish off a bottle of wine in one evening (oops haha). As long as you still get two booze free nights a week and don't drink to excess too often then I wouldn't worry. Is it partially a boredom thing when you have a drink by yourself? Also this has been a tough year for you so that might have had an impact.

January Child caramelchicken ⋅ December 28, 2015

I've been trying to think about the "why". I think I just equate it with relaxing and "good times" even though I seem to do it more alone. I don't know... yes.. two booze free nights a week seems like a good goal!! I'll see how I go :)

Wind Swept January 04, 2016

I try not to drink any alcohol Sunday-Wednesday. That way I can always tell myself I can take it or leave it. But Thursday, Friday and Saturday, i'll usually have 3-4...
Just allow yourself to skip a few days each week, and never drink too much at once unless it's a party situation...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.