Rain rain GO AWAY in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • Dec. 27, 2015, 10:40 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Oh my goodness! Way to much rain and coming down in torrents with high winds since late Friday night and even though for now the winds seem to have calmed the rain is still coming down. I discovered a leak in the garage and one in my bedroom. Grrrrr. I got up in the attic and saw where it is coming in and it is right at the edge of the roof eve in the front of the house roof. Since it is still raining and flooding is happening all around, I can’t imagine calling anyone to fix it today. I climbed up into the attic and found where it is coming in so I’ll have that information for whoever comes to hopefully make a repair and keep this from ever happening again, no matter the wind speed. Maybe not and it may just find a new place to leak. Oh I pray not!

My night wasn’t very restful and I had to visit the bathroom several times. I think I know why, but about 11pm I had a spell of heart palpitations which cause a major headache the next day. It actually started in the middle of the night so I’m about worthless this morning. Not to mention the bathroom visits. Thankfully much less this morning so hopefully I’m on the way to that issue being over! I’m just a wealth of bad news this time. Sorry. A’s car got a flat tire on Christmas afternoon so she asked to borrow my Tahoe to get O’s cousin to come a play with him on his new Xbox. Sure that is fine. Someone was going to try and come down and change it for her, but with the steady rain that did not happen. Long story short. She still have the Tahoe and hopefully she can talk someone into putting the donut spare on for her, as I must go to work tomorrow. Oh and O will stay the night here tonight and go with me to work tomorrow to help shred more papers and carry stuff to the Tahoe for me. If not, A will be stranded at home tomorrow.

Some better things are that I worked on the mess on and in my computer desk in my bedroom yesterday. It was on my last nerve, so without thinking about it, I got started on it. It isn’t complete by any stretch, but it is better. I actually got my LR and kitchen floors swept yesterday and several loads of laundry done and put away. I even washed up the dirty dishes and fixed pork steak for supper with mac n cheese and some corn. That was about all I did yesterday except I did take a nap about 10 yesterday morning. Very weird dreams tho. Very weird.

I didn’t get up until 6 this morning, with all the up and down last night and haven’t done anything except did open the box from Joann’s fabric and looked at each package of new fabric. 16 packages of 3 yds each. Heehee. I will try and not open any of them to begin the washing and drying process until AFTER I get the sewing/craft room organized again. I’m pretty sure I’ll have to get creative to find places for these yardages to be placed and may build another shelf…somewhere. Not sure where as I’ve used so much wall space already. I’ll think of a plan eventually and then get started using it. If I can find a stock photo of the machine I ordered, I’ll post a picture of it and the fabric. I seriously hope I don’t bore you to death with my picture posting of fabric and equipment, but truthfully I just don’t have anyone to share my hobby with in the raw stages. Well, unless they want me to make something for them.

Found a stock photo that I’m uploading to Photobucket. Photobucket warns me that I’ve reached 88.9% of my storage limit and encourages to expand, which mean funds. I’ll just delete some of the pictures.

The machine:
alt text

The fabric:
alt text

Thanks for your indulgence and patience. Take care and God Bless


GypsyWynd December 27, 2015

Oh dear! Leaky roofs are never fun (and never cheap to fix, either!)
It's nice seeing you so enthusiastically planning for your retirement!

seafarer December 27, 2015

lots going on, friend!!
I enjoy your fabric and designs, too!! That is the exact sewing machine I was looking at.... You'll have to post often the work you do with it...... (((hugs)))

middle age pearl seafarer ⋅ December 27, 2015

Oh go ahead and get that machine! This was my retirement/Christmas present from my work and my dad so that is why I was able to get it. I will not use it though until my sewing room is back in some kind of order. I should have worked on it today, but I kept watching the waters rise. Goodness it is still raining too!

crystal butterfly December 27, 2015

Well, shucks on the leaking. I hope the rain stops in a timely manner so that you get get it fixed quickly.

Slowpoke December 28, 2015

That is a nice looking machine. I much prefer the individual machines rather than the ones in the cabinetry. I can never find floor space for them. I like the variety of materials. Sorry about the leaks and all the rain. Rain is something California has been praying for. BUT we don't want it all at once. lol. Sometimes beggars can't be choosers. Thanks for answering me so quickly. Take Care.

aunty EM December 29, 2015

Oh, wow! What a beautiful machine. I used to sew...about 100 years ago. Don't even have a machine anymore. Don't even want one. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.