On Xmas and Seizures. in Friends With the Benedicts

  • Dec. 27, 2015, 9:16 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So, I’m pretty sure I mentioned it last entry, but we are actually having (have/had, whatever lol) a pretty good xmas, all things considered. Laura got into fossils this year, and learned that she could buy a Megalodon (prehistoric shark that’s like gigantic and lived I think during dino times lol) tooth for not toooo terribly much, so she got one of those. I had no idea how cool I, personally, was gonna think it was until it arrived and I couldn’t stop fondling it. lol. Well, then she found out that she had completely missed a part of the website, and it turns out that they also had actual dinosaur teeth up for sale too! Not only that, but the kind of teeth they had, just so happened to be her favorite kind of Dino, Spinosaurus! She reeeally wanted one, but we just did NOT have the money right then, and neither did my Mom. They were dwindling quickly on this website, and the ones that were within range of what we would consider “not too much” were being snatched up fast. Finally, after Laura posting on FB about it a lot, lol, her Mom agreed to buy it for her as an early Xmas present and just deduct the amount from the money she was going to send us. :) Win win win! So that covered Laura, who was the happiest I had seen her in a long time over a gift. Here she is with the Megalodon tooth in her mouth lol:

alt text

Here’s what it looked like when they sent it to her, it came in a really nice box, and even included a bonus fossil as well along with it:
alt text
Here is the little “bonus” fossil they sent with it:
alt text

Apparently it’s like 110 million years old or something? It looked like a seashell to me. lol. So anywhoo…
Her Mom ended up not only not deducting the money for the fossil, but she also sent us twice as much as she said she was going to! After a little misunderstanding between the wife and I, (I didn’t know she wanted me to spend all of the money on myself and considered the fossils her full “xmas” lol) I made good use of the money since we had zero food. I also bought something I wanted, but really, we needed to eat. LOL. We had dropped the ball on recertifying the foodstamps until it was too late and we were forced to reapply instead, except both of us kept forgetting to do it! I just now did it not that long ago, maybe a few days, and they said that we did qualify for expedited application. Me and my Mom went to Walmart tonite, and on a hunch I told her to check, and they were already on the card! Woohoo! See? A lot of good mixed in with the bad to make this juuuust confusing enough. LOL. Speaking of confusing… I am reeeally liking this new FB page I subscribe to:

alt text

LOL! My lovely wifey shared that on her fb page. :)

OK, so… I guess I can’t put it off any longer. Yes, about a week or so ago, I had a small seizure. Laura tells me I was unresponsive and had my head back on the couch, and when she became more rough with shaking me, my head fell down and I was shaking and making weird “trying to breathe” noises. She says from what she remembers, it was only around 7-10 seconds for the whole thing, but that was enough to traumatize her quite a bit. I just remember feeling like my tongue was bouncing around in my mouth, and then nothing, until I came to with her yelling at me. I was like, the fuck? Why are you yelling at me? She cried quite a bit, and of course had to take a Xanax. She said the next day while she was taking a shower, just reliving it made her have to take another one, she got so scared and anxious. I feel horrible that I caused her to go thru that. I am not on my MS med right now because it is an immunosuppressant, and we are really hoping that this is not a new symptom that is here to stay as a result. I have been having a horrible time being off of the drug as it is, having fevers, old symptoms coming back, vibrations and muscle contractions where I haven’t had them in a long time, etc. So I cannot wait to get this surgery overwith on the 4th, get some answers, and possibly get back on the damn things! I never was the world’s best at taking it every single time, I would miss a dose here and there, but no more! I will make out with that damn syringe 3 times a week if they want me to! lol

OK so here is where I am gonna cheat a lil with FB statuses, but I will elaborate, especially on the following one lol:
12/23 - Wow today was so jam packed with shizzle. Let’s see if I can fit it all without ya’ll having to hit “see more”. LOL. Started at 9am, Mommy came, we went to run errands, had my migraine infusion at 11, went to Dad’s rehab, stopped by Publix to get stuff for Xmas party at my Aunt’s, went home to dress, went to Xmas party and had much fun, got a present, got an ornament in dirty ornaments, brought home leftovers, got home and animals had escaped, walked in rain with an elephant ear umbrella, (the struggle is real) animals came back, annnnd now I am cleaning some in the kitchen and going to watch a movie with my love!

OK so yea, I am supposed to stop a lot of different meds like 2 weeks before surgery, which fell on the 21st, so I wasn’t going to risk getting the migraine infusion, but if I didn’t do it that day, I would have had to wait till after Xmas and then it definitely would have been too close to my surgery date. The only meds I have to stop are aspirin, nsaids like aleve, etc, and ummm I can’t think of any others right now. Those may be the only ones. The only thing they give me with the infusion is Benadryl, Decadron, (steroid) some kind of muscle relaxant, and they do give an nsaid, but I didn’t think it was cutting it that close. Not to mention, I had been having really bad migraines and it was def time for one again! It was basically then or a long time from now, which I did not want. I felt the benefits outweighed the risks. My stepdad had been in a rehabilitation place, and it was literally minutes up the road from my neurologist, so it all worked out well. My Mom was trying to make me have a freaking nervous breakdown tho, she kept remarking about the time, and saying we were running out - even when we had over two hours to go to do maybe two things! She drove me crazy that day! But the xmas party was fun, even tho I had no appetite. :( Here are some pics from the party:

Here is my aunt Judy’s precious and handsome cat Sebastian, who of course got spoiled and fed by my Mom and I:
alt text

This is my pretty cousin Madison, who is growing up sooo fast! She looks like such a little lady.:
alt text

My silly yet awesome cousin Austin. I used to change his diapers yall! :(
alt text

My cousin Hannah (my Mom’s sister’s daughter) holding my cousin Ashley’s son Silas (yes he was named after the character on “Weeds” lol, and my Mommy behind them:
alt text

My aunt Lisha (my Mom’s sister) and her other, older daughter Amy. She is the one who got married a while back. Amy wasn’t feeling too well… hmmm.... I wonder if it’s because of anything brewing in the ole’ uterus? lol:
alt text

My sweet (most of the time lol) aunt Judy. The party was at her house:
alt text

My cousin Maranda (left, Madison’s mom as well as many others lol) and Ashley, Silas’ Mom:
alt text

This is the awesome selfie that my favorite amazing cousin Vanessa and I took in the bathroom lol:
alt text

And then this is the selfie that me and my Mom tried to take in the same bathroom, only we honestly do NOT know how to do it! lol:
alt text

And last but not least, is a sight that is rarely seen, but it does happen. This is actually why I was just sharing this very pic on my page so that Laura’s Mom could be reminded that she does come to our family gatherings every once in a while! LOL. This pic is from Xmas 2010. From left to right, there is:
Laura, Me, my aunt Judy holding my baby cousin Emersyn, cousin Maranda, cousin Hannah, cousin Vanessa, and her sister cousin Ashley. Then in back from L to R is my Mom, cousin Amy, and my aunt Lisha, my Mom’s sis. :)
alt text

I shared that pic, and wrote this to Laura’s Mom to go along with it:

See, Connie, Laura does occasionally come to our family gatherings! I think this was ummm… a few years ago. Maybe 3? We have a lot more women in the family than guys. I just thought you might like to see this and kinda be “introduced” to some of my small family.

LOL. Laura’s Mom had been asking her in days prior if she was invited to the xmas party, and if she would go. She is always invited, she just rarely wants to go!

I am currently staying the night at my Mom’s house. We plan to get up tomorrow and go shopping! Whooot!! And my xmas shall continue.... I just got a card that I applied for in the mail for a local store here. My Mom has the same card. It should be lots of fun! Wish me luck that I am able to find jeans/pants that will fit me! I am sooo up down up down these days. Grr… I hope everyone had a lovely xmas and are doing alright! Goodbye my lovelies! <3

Steph


Last updated December 27, 2015


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.