Saturday, Dec 26, 2015 in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • Dec. 26, 2015, 8:49 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Another Christmas passes. So hectic and so busy before and during. Today should be a quiet day and I’m ready. Several things I need to do today and I shall do them, but no hurry, just complete before dark. Not that darkness will hinder, but want those things completed by then.

Christmas Eve and Day were filled with laughter and joy and I stayed busy getting food prepared both times. A and Owen arrived at the house around 7ish and plans changed with them staying overnight. The guest room bed is not comfortable for her so she asked if it would hurt my feelings if she let Owen stay the night here and she went to her house and slept in her own bed. Nope, doesn’t hurt my feelings, just get him to bed and asleep before you leave, which she did.

I was up before 4 and as I headed to the kitchen to make my coffee I realized I had made a big mistake by turning all and I mean ALL lights off in the kitchen and living room with the warning to Owen that if the Christmas lights weren’t on, then Santa hadn’t arrived yet. Duh me. I was Santa and “Santa” couldn’t turn any lights on to do his thing for both Owen and J. In the middle of the delivery, low and behold, I looked down the hall and there stood Owen. He said J was too loud in his room and would I make him go to bed? Yes. Yes, I will but don’t come in the LR yet as Santa hasn’t been here yet. Sure enough J was sitting on the edge of his bed with remote in hand. I sternly told him to turn down the TV and to get laid back down as Santa was due but wouldn’t come unless he and Owen were in bed. Whew!! I waited a few minutes before completing the rest of the delivery and believe me, it was difficult with no lights. I used my cell phone finally and got the stockings stuffed and all was ready. By 5 am I texted A and told her to get down here before Owen got back up. That didn’t work, and Owen did get up about 5:10. I let Owen call her and thankfully she was able to get the call as cell signals are iffy down here. She got here about 5:30 and J was up by that time and the opening and pictures taking began. Oh my. That was Phase I. Phase II happened about 8:30 and Phase III happened at noon.

Everyone seemed happy and content with their gifts to include Pearl here. I received some really neat stuff from my kids. Joann’s gift certificate, super soft socks, a heated neck massager and feet warmers, massage and heated booties. I used the neck and feet massage gifts last night and oh my it was wonderful!!

I received money from Dad and a wonderful smelling candle from sister. It was a good day and I managed to take a nap yesterday afternoon after everyone left. Everyone was gone by 2pm and I soaked in the quiet for about an hour before I got my pillow and a blanket and gave in to a nap. It was worth it too. I felt much better when I woe up and actually felt rested.

Well I did it about an hour ago. I ordered a new Brother sewing and embroidery machine. It will be delivered to my local Walmart on the 3d of January, which is a week from tomorrow. What a wonderful way to start my retirement!! I can’t wait for it to arrive and to try it out. Must do some major organization and cleaning before I get too involved but my preparations are in place for a new chapter in my life. It isn’t the last chapter, it is a new chapter and I’m looking forward to see what happens.

It has been pouring down rain this morning. It is still raining but has slowed down. Flood warnings are again in our forecast. Tuesday there is a possibility of snow. Not much, I don’t think and just a chance.

My countdown ticker says I have 7 days. A week from today, I will officially be on the retired list. Three full work days and the 4th day to turn in my ID card and receive a retired card and that should only take a few minutes. I expect to drive away by 10am. It could be sooner, but need to delete anything left on my work computer, do a final check that I have everything out of my office and then turn in my ID card. I will admit that I’ve had seconds of time of doubt but it is immediately overcome with joy, a big smile, and most of the time, a childish giggle.

Prayers for all and God Bless


Last updated December 26, 2015


GypsyWynd December 26, 2015

Sounds like a great Christmas.

crystal butterfly December 26, 2015

Sounds like a good Christmas. Step daughter had to do all the Santa stuff hoping not to wake sleeping daughter who got to sleep on the sofa.

seafarer December 27, 2015

retirement!! YAY!!! so excited for you!!!!!
I looked at those sewing machines and even told hubs I wanted one, but I just cannot justify buying one.... dang!!! Can't wait to see what you make with yours!!...... my sewing room is still a disaster, I must get busy cleaning and organizing it.... wanna help??? love ya, friend!!

middle age pearl seafarer ⋅ December 27, 2015

If you saw mine right now, you wouldn't want my help. lol

aunty EM December 29, 2015

I'm smiling. You sound so happy.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.