* Do I Know You? * in Just Stuff

  • Dec. 23, 2015, 11:31 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Regardless of gender, pretend that the next person you see was your spouse
in a previous lifetime. You were deeply in love, and now, here you are in
completely unrelated lives without the slightest awareness of all that “once
was,” only you have knowledge about this previous relationship, and you have
absolute conviction that it did, in fact, happen.

Explore with your imagination this possibility and what such a belief might
do to your relationship with this person with “amnesia.”

Ask yourself,
How would I behave towards this person, if I truly and deeply believed that
this were true?

What can I do with this person now that reflects such a fantastic
possibility and that is socially acceptable to me in this life with this
personality?

How would this person react to proof that it were indeed the truth? Given
this exercise’s premise and assuming my conviction that it is true, how can
I be so certain of my predictions regarding this person’s reactions to “my
truth” when my “vibe” and demeanor around this person would be so changed?

If I believed in such things as previous lifetimes, what would I believe to
be the chances that the people around me are also friends and enemies I once
knew?

If previous lifetimes are possible, how far back into time can I imagine
them going? Far enough for virtually everyone on this earth to have once
been a loved one of mine?

How does this imagining of a physical presence throughout time affect me
emotionally? If the ultimate truth of reality is one that includes almost
endless reincarnations that one is almost perfectly unaware of, so what?
What if I actually once were Abraham Lincoln or Gandhi or, perhaps some arch
villain? So what?

If I have a dream in which I, by my definition, sin, what should the waking “me” do about the sin of the “dream me?”

When I consider the content of my dreams, the characters I have created,
the “masks” I have worn, the heights and depths of morality, fear and
spirituality I have played with, the entire universes created from “scratch,” have I been a god?

When I see someone I know and remember something about them, how do I know
if that memory is true instead of something I once dreamed or an
unsubstantiated belief I somehow have concocted? Why do I trust my memory?

How do I know that I am not a character in someone’s dream? What is my
absolute proof?

If in a dream tonight, a dream character comes up to my dream character and
asks, “Am I less real than you?”, what would I like “my” dream character to
say to that “other” dream character?

Who’s more real: my dream character that I believe is me during the dream,
or the “real me” that is being created by the “creator of me?”

Regards,
Rick


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.