My Earliest Memory in 30 Day Writing Challenge

  • Dec. 23, 2015, 4:06 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Let’s see. My earliest memory would probably be when I was probably 4 or 5. My mom told me to do something that I apparently did not want to do, and in my exasperation muttered “God.”

My mom immediately responded with “we do not say ‘God’ in anger.”

Not knowing exactly what she meant, I replaced ‘God’ with what made the most since to me at the time.

“Jesus Christ,” I yelled.

That was the first time I was ever slapped. I don’t even think I got both words out of my mouth before the hand came flying.

I really wasn’t trying to be a smart ass.

This entry is not intended to make anyone think I was abused as a child. I wasn’t. My parents didn’t believe in sparing the rod, but it was very rare that we were actually physically punished. I had pretty amazing parents.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.