Bike mad in Jingle bells, batman smells while shepherds wash their socks (winter 2015/16).

  • Dec. 23, 2015, 4:02 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

When I started writing here I was a bit of a bicycle nut - I cycled to work through London taking in the Thames path, Richmond Park, Putney Heath and (in winter) the south circular! I lived tinkering with my bike and really miss it. Only I don’t realise how much I miss it until I have a need to tinker.

Talaia has started to look like a giant on a gnome’s bike and so we have bought her a new one. I paid the lesser amount which meant being able to set it up myself and I just spent an hour putting it together and adjusting the brakes, testing it up and down our street, tinkering some more. It was great fun....

And now I want a new one! My bike, the one that has travelled thousands of miles with me, is 23 years old. I have friends younger than my bike!

But we’ve been through so much I just couldn’t imagine being without it.

Of course, it probably needs a bit of tinkering too 😁💕 🚲


Deleted user December 23, 2015

23 years, wow!

thesunnyabyss December 23, 2015

I'm guessing you don't have the special fat tires for winter out there, for bikes, they have these special winter tires that are very fat, for cycling in the winter, it's amazing how many people still do it all winter here,

enjoy your tinkering!!

ermentrude thesunnyabyss ⋅ December 23, 2015

I have seen bikes with fat tyres but I think they're more fashion! X

thesunnyabyss December 23, 2015

ps, I think some of Wayne's and the kids' best memories are when they were all tinkering away at their bikes together, sadly I am not a tinkerer of bikes the way they all are, lol

edna million December 23, 2015

Impressive tinkering skills!

colojojo December 24, 2015

I didn't know bikes came taken apart. Haha. You definitely deserve a new bike!! That's a lotta years and a lotta miles.

I didn't know you lived in London :)

January Child December 26, 2015

wow that's a long time!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.