Five Problems with Social Media in 30 Day Writing Challenge

  • Dec. 22, 2015, 8:46 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Where do I start with this one? Can we just say everything and move on?

  1. Publicity Stunts - Social media has created an arena for narcissistic people to create drama where there is none. “Please pray for me” is not a status that you need to make multiple times a week and not tell people what is going on. If you have an “unspoken prayer request,” call a church and get yourself put on a prayer list. Facebook is not a prayer group. All this is going to do is stir up drama and cause people to talk about you behind your back while they try to figure out what is going on. But that’s what you wanted to begin with, isn’t it?

  2. Too Much Family - The weekly call with the grandmother always start, did you see what this third cousin put on Facebook two minutes ago? No, Gram. I do not have time to Facebook stalk are enormous family. I am so unlike most of my family. I’m educated. I have ambitions. I’m not a drug addict. I left my small town for something bigger. The drama my family vomits onto Facebook is disgusting. But can I delete them from Facebook without WWIII happening? Of course not.

  3. Simple Minds. Social media is full of people who don’t know how to think for themselves, but want to feel important, so share everything. I mean - everything. What is sad is they believe everything they read. It hurts my brain to see uneducated arguments on Facebook. I can feel my blood pressure rising thinking about it, so I’m not going to rant about this one.

  4. On This Day - All this does is remind me of how young and naive I was. I can’t stay away from it. Please delete it for me.

  5. Public Shaming. One falling out between friends or one break up can be the end of you socially. This one is personal. When I finally told my ex that he was doing nothing to improve our marriage and I didn’t think it was going to work anymore, he took to Facebook before he could even get out of the driveway. There were so many lies posted on Facebook about me by him. Because I hate drama and because I knew he was angry and hurt, I didn’t defend myself. I thought my friends and family would see through his hurt and realize that they knew me better than that. I gave them too much credit.


Deleted user December 22, 2015

I don't think the "please pray" thing is that bad, only because I know people may attend church and have church members on their friends list. And I like the "on this day", I think it's neat to see what I was doing x years ago, and also some of the stupid shit I was complaining about back then lol

Calculated Chaos Deleted user ⋅ December 22, 2015

My problem is the ones who do it constantly. The ones who don't go to church or even come close to living a life that would reflect a Christian life who post this on a weekly basis or more. I have specific people in mind - they do it for the attention. They love to see the 30 plus people commenting asking what is wrong, but don't respond a single comment.

On this day - I just don't want to see the stupid shit I was complaining about back then! lol

Deleted user Calculated Chaos ⋅ December 22, 2015

Oh I get that. I'll have people who will post something religious, "share this and God will bless you", etc. Then the next day post about going to the club lol.

Telstar December 22, 2015

Good entry........

Calculated Chaos Telstar ⋅ December 22, 2015

Thanks...... :)

LoveSuicide December 22, 2015

Some people be bitches, yo

Calculated Chaos LoveSuicide ⋅ December 22, 2015

No. Just no. Lol

LoveSuicide Calculated Chaos ⋅ December 22, 2015

No?! How rude!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.