Happy Holidays! in Site Updates

  • Dec. 16, 2015, 6:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Wow, only nine days until Christmas. This year is slipping away quickly. Where did that first half of December go? Wasn’t it, like, (American) Thanksgiving last week?

I do remember mentioning to someone on the site a few months back that there would be site changes on the way, most certainly before the end of the year. But then life happened, and not much has changed on the site in quite some time. So I guess I have to fall back to the old George R. R. Martin line, “It’s done when it’s done.” Or something like that. I won’t push out something shoddy or half-broken.

But there are a couple of items I think are worth mentioning:

  1. The domain prosebox.com is now mine. I wasn’t really expecting to acquire it, but now I have and that’s pretty cool. Eventually prosebox.net will redirect to the dot com domain. So the rename of the site may be a moot point now. :)

  2. I have set up a (secret) secondary web server that will be instrumental in testing the new site changes. Right now it’s just a copy of the existing site but I’ll start migrating new stuff to it. And I’ll go revisit my old comments to see who amongst you were interested in doing a bit of beta testing. So that’s still going to happen.

Meanwhile, I wish you all a very happy holiday season. I hope the end of 2015 treats you all very well, and here’s hoping for great things in 2016!


Deleted user December 16, 2015

Ohhh, secret web server. It's like a spy novel.

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ December 16, 2015

Well hello, Gaius Baltar. I have this sudden urge to go watch the first episode of the rebooted BSG again. :)

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ December 16, 2015

As well you should.

Teflon Superhero simple mind ⋅ December 16, 2015

Oh no oh no see, I've been resisting the urge to watch it. You made me look at his screen name and now I'm feignin'

FEIIIIIGNIN!

invisible ink December 16, 2015

still makes me laugh

Krud December 16, 2015

Seems like it was just Halloween last week.

Camdengirl December 16, 2015

Happy Christmas - wonderful news on the .com!

Deleted user December 16, 2015

Happiest of holidays to you, my friend! And thank you so much for all that you do for us here on Prosebox. I really appreciate you.

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ December 16, 2015

Awww, thanks! You too!

Teflon Superhero December 16, 2015

FIIIIIIIIIIIIVE GOOOOOOOLD TOOOOOOOOOOOOOKS!

simple mind Teflon Superhero ⋅ December 16, 2015

And a beer!
I think there needs to be more there...
IN A TREEEEE.

synapse December 16, 2015

Is it too late to volunteer for beta tester? I have some experience doing this for OSS. Although I have to say I like the site quite well as it is.

simple mind synapse ⋅ December 16, 2015

Certainly not, the more the merrier. :)

middle age pearl December 16, 2015

Well congrats to you now owning Prosebox!! So very happy that you allow us to share it and if you need a beta tester, I can be a user tester as no smarts to fix anything. Just a blogger here.

Deleted user December 16, 2015

Bob and Doug... that was perfect.
Merry Christmas to you and your family and thanks for this amazing site! My first PB book was 2013, and now it's almost 2016? Crazy!

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ December 16, 2015

Going into our third year, huh? I am starting to lose track. :)

auburn_girl December 16, 2015

Oh those crazy Canucks! Have you seen Strange Brew? Campy, classic Canadian film. I'm feeling another viewing might be in order. Thanks, ya hoser, eh. ;)

Love all you've done for us. Looking forward to seeing what 2016 brings!

simple mind auburn_girl ⋅ December 16, 2015

Of course! Relevant Strange Brew quote for this week:

Luke, I am your father. Give in to the dark side, you knob.

Kate December 16, 2015

Whoot!

TruNorth December 17, 2015

Congrats on the prosebox.com acquisition. Thank you for creating this site. Merry Christmas!

Mum of Yum December 17, 2015

Happy holidays! I certainly feel more that Prosebox is a little family more than I ever did at the old site.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm December 17, 2015

you sure do take care of this site and for that i will be forever grateful. hope you have a very merry christmas. take care,

Deleted user December 17, 2015

Better to take longer to do something right than to do it quicker and have it be full of bugs and all kinds of frustrating glitches. So glad to hear you care enough to work so patiently and diligently on it no matter how long it takes. You got a beta tester if you need one!

•kitkat• December 17, 2015

Ooh beta testing!

Deleted user December 20, 2015

Merry Christmas. You are appreciated more than you know. :-)

Deleted user January 01, 2016

I so want to be a data tester

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.