"WHEN THIS HOLIDAY SEASON IS FULL OF LOVE..." in "THE WORDPLAY WARRIOR: Writing for The Unheard Voices"

  • Dec. 16, 2015, 2:01 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

You don’t have to wait for Valentine’s Day like some may do for love. I know this sounds cliche but it is true. I am also acutely aware that this may sound rather odd to some of you, coming from a romantically-challenged skeptic like me.

Still, I can’t deny what’s been around me lately.

Last month, my younger cousin got married. I was so happy that I didn’t care that some of the not-so-tactful people started making a fuss about my single status at the age of 34 like…again. (Let’s not mention any names, shall we? Not worth it.)

Yeah, I’m damn loud and proud. I’m not afraid anymore. Social bullying has gone way too old for me. They need to come up with something interesting if they want my attention.

Then this month, it’s my younger brother’s wedding on the 20th. After that, my friend’s on the 24th. I am sure this is going to be an interesting, out-of-town short trip.

Next year? Another friend on January 3.

Last weekend, I caught a picture of another friend of mine on FB. He’s got engaged. When I congratulated him, he had this absolute glow on his face. Seeing that, I was glad that she had said yes to him.

”Do you think 27 is too young for a guy?” he asked when I wondered about his age. I smiled and shook my head.

”No,” I assured him. ”It’s more about how ready you are.”

When it comes to real love, you don’t have to wait for anything at all. If it is right in front of your eyes and has been all along, why not give it a try? Especially if it is worth fighting for, since none of us ever know how long it will stay - or if it ever will at all.

After all, time is all that we are given.

What about me? For now, I am only thankful that these great people are blessed. They inspire hope. In this already chaotic world, love still does exist…

R.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.