So long ago in Day by day

  • Dec. 14, 2015, 2:43 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s 42 years ago today that I went into hospital to give birth to my frist child . Back in those days there was no scans and no pictures of the baby’s pre-birth, so with ever birth the babies sex was always a surprise. I was young and so wanted a girls. Then just after midnight on the 15th December my new born son arrived, three weeks early and weighing in at a healthy 6lb 3oz and as cute as a button. He was so much smaller then the rest of the babies in the nursery and all wanted to see this small baby. Back in those days we had to stay in hospital for a full 5 Days and to have a nedical before being allowed home. C-section births had to remain in hospital for a full 10 days.

Every year at this time I am amazed at how much of the day before his birth I can remenber and it seems like it could have been yesterday. Yet for the rest of year, I never even give this day a though and would probably struggle to recall it.

I left hospital 5 days later leaving my baby behind. He had a few issue post birth, nothing major. I returned on Christmas Eve to collect him. So my son arrived in time for Christmas Day.

I always hurt a great deal at this time.
My son, us a very unhappy adult.


elaine2 December 14, 2015

Lovely memory.
I am amazed that a woman can give birth in the wee hours and be home for supper.

Roseyrays elaine2 ⋅ December 14, 2015

Yes, I almost did that with my second. She was born 10.08 am and I was home for 5 pm, dropped of by ambulance.

Sabrina-Belle December 16, 2015

I loved reading this. I do the same on my children's birthdays. I go through it all hour by hour. I was in hospital 6 days with my eldest son because of problems with feeding. I wanted a girl, too, when he was born but when this beautiful boy arrived I remember thinking that I could buy him all of the things I was never allowed to have like a train set and play with him!
6lb 3 oz doesn't sound that small, my first son was 6lb 12 oz. I was only 5lb.
I'm sorry your son is an unhappy adult. My daughter has big problems, she has Aspergers and has suffered a lot of depression. I know how hard it can be.

Roseyrays Sabrina-Belle ⋅ December 16, 2015

Thanks for your lovely reply.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.