Football — What can I say? in Looking for OpenDiarists

  • Dec. 6, 2015, 7:57 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Posted on Tehachap.WordPress.com on December 6, 2015 by tehachap

I am not a fan of football, except to have it as background noise to read or sew by. I happened to catch the final moments of the Big 10 Conference last night and after the game ended I watched as #18 (Cook) reached up into the stands to hug what appeared to be his family. Not being all that knowledgeable about the game, I just smiled that the man who appeared to be his dad would seem to be that excited about his son’s team winning the game.

I continued to work on sewing down the binding of my latest quilt and watched as Cook was awarded MVP for the game (and for the 2nd time in his career). Quite an achievement, if I do say so myself.

My niece, Jeanette Vogt, is collecting participants for a football pool for the Chargers v. Broncos game. The squares are $10 each and the pool is a fundraiser for the Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation’s “Hot Buttered Run”, a 10k race. Read more about my niece and the race here: http://online.ccfa.org/goto/jvogt

Her commitment to raising funds for Crohn’s and Colitis is due in part because two of her aunts have Crohn’s disease, and her mother had IBD. I’ve lived with Crohn’s since 1980 and hope they find a cure for it really soon. Thanks and kudos to my niece for her dedicated effort at raising funds for a cure. I know she would really appreciate any donations you can spare.

Back to sewing and football, I don’t know if there’s a game on today, or if I’ll have to sew by a black and white western, but I plan on finishing the binding on that quilt and get it to Laura for her granddaughter. Laura has two granddaughters, and both wanted Disney Princess fabric–one was to be pink and the other one purple. I’ve finished the pink quilt and this one is the purple one.

It’s a queen size quilt, that should have been a twin, but being a newbie quilter, I failed to alter the size of the blocks before cutting and sewing them. <sigh> I figure the girls will have these quilts a looong time–at least until they grow big enough for a queen-size bed! I know they’ll be kept warm under the quilt with the knowledge that someone they don’t even know loves their grandmother (and them) enough to make them a beautiful quilt of their very own.

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Know that you are loved — by people you don’t even know, for there are those who love everyone unconditionally, and who pray for peace throughout the world. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.