It's time for Fun in Tea at the Cabin in the Woods

  • Dec. 2, 2015, 11:56 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

In about a half hour the 8th Annual Ginger Bread Competition will begin. It is so hard to believe I started this silliness 8 years ago! The past few days have been filled with preparations and this morning I took over the bakery in the dining hall to make all the icing for the contestants. This is also the 3rd year an Alumni has sponsored the event by sending cases of candy his company makes and a nice monetary donation for other supplies. One of my classes spent the entire class time yesterday making up the kits for each team, counting and sorting all the candies, Krispie Treats, Ice Cream Cones, M&M’s, candy canes, jelly beans, etc… When we had most of the kits done, one of the candies didn’t have enough for the last few bags. This caused some confusion since all the boxes had exactly the same amount in them and I had done all the calculations. Well, it appeared that several of the boys “Shorted” the kit bags and pocket much of the candy. When I asked them to empty their pockets - they all laughed and forked over the “Stolen” candy. They didn’t think a few missing would make a big difference.

I didn’t make a big deal about it, but pointed out that was a form of cheating and as the chair of the Academic Standards Committee - it could be grounds for an official hearing - “Just saying.” These are first year students and the class is a first year experience class. I think they got the hint. So, I counted out what was handed back, divided it up into 15 (there are 15 in the class) and gave it to them. The kits will be fine, there is more than enough to go around. I also told them, next time just ask. KIDS!

So I am off to put this all together and to watch the creativity come to life. I love this event. It’s a lot of work, but so much fun and everyone who participates seem to laugh a lot. That’s why we do it. To laugh and have some fun at the end of the semester.

Enjoy your day. Mine will leave me covered in icing!


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.