As Good As A Holiday? in Your Face

  • Nov. 30, 2015, 10:29 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I felt really quite ill for most of the weekend. I spent what felt like a lot of time just laying around.

On Saturday, we ran some errands, grabbed food and Tyler met us at our place. He hung out and played video games, his dog acted like an asshole, he drank too much of our booze, and farted up the couch. Once again, we are unsure why we bother hanging out with him. We don’t like going to his place, but we don’t like him coming to ours. If we go out to eat, he inevitably eats way more than us (we usually share plates) and then stiffs us on the bill and tip. Why are we friends with this guy, again? Well, we do actually like him. All of us have plenty in common, and can hang out for hours and not run out of things to talk about. We like the same foods and activities, and are happy to just hang out - it doesn’t have to be an event. I think we just need to hang out with him less, find some new friends or something.

My neck and shoulders have been really painful since Wednesday. It coincided with taking a Super Expensive Migraine Pill, which worked pretty darn well, but immediately seized up my muscles. They’ve loosened a little since, but I’m still really stiff and sore. It’s the worst.

In other news, I had blood drawn on Tuesday and I have NO BRUISE! It’s a Thanksgiving miracle! I don’t even have a tiny blue dot at the entry site. I need to find out the name of the woman who drew the blood so I can request her again.

I was laying in bed last night and M came in for one of the 20-30 mini-conversations that he has with me every night when I’m doing that. I was completely surprised when he said that he thinks I ought to cut back my work hours! You guys know that I have been wanting to do that, and trying to figure out how to make it work, and to keep everyone happy, and to make sure I still bring in decent money. M has always been the biggest hurdle to jump, because he’s so against losing work hours, and he himself never, ever takes time off work, despite being ill or injured. He’s been in his current job for over two years now, and the only time he has had off was when he left work 2 hours early one day because he had a really bad stomach bug. So, any time that I had previously mentioned cutting back hours, he was very against it, and did not want to accept that my shitty health is a decent reason to cut back.

He’s now seeing, though, that it’s too much. I have almost constant headaches, and am burning through various painkillers. My stomach is flaring up a whole lot, it’s a rare couple of days that I don’t have to race for the bathroom. My body is tired and aching. My thyroid is crapping out, and I’m gaining weight like crazy, despite no change in diet. He said that he feels tired, because his own schedule has to be adjusted to fit in running back and forth to take me to jobs and pick me up when I’m done. He even said, “I feel tired, and I’m not even the one working the hours”. And that actually made me feel good in a way, because I’ve felt a little as though he doesn’t see what I’ve been doing. He works long hours in a crap job, so let’s not discount his efforts, but I feel as though he thinks I have it easy because I’m in offices. Anyone here who has worked long hours in offices will know what I mean when I say that it is DRAINING. Your body may not ache, but your head is fried.

Anyway. So, I’ve pretty much formulated what I’ll do, and it’ll be alternating Tuesdays with two offices, and no more double shift on the Monday.

I’m a little nervous that something may have happened to a “friend” I made in the apartment complex, a man that rides around on a scooter and seems to have had a brain injury or something like it. There was a cop car, sheriff car and ambulance outside this morning, pulled up in spaces close to his apartment (he’s in an area with no direct parking in front, instead his apartment faces a communal barbecue and playground area). I guess I’ll find out soon enough.


Deleted user November 30, 2015

I'm glad M came around on the work hours. I think that will help your health immensely. And yes, office work is exhausting on the mind. Hubs got a chance to see how much program navigating I have to do for work while focusing on the customer and responding. He wouldn't be able to do it. But I think he's over the "you sit on your ass all day" ideal.

AlexYourAlterEgo Deleted user ⋅ November 30, 2015

Oh, I am so glad. And so surprised. It was nice to be able to say, hey, yeah, I'm fried, dude, and have him actually hear it, and understand where I was coming from.

I'm so glad your hubs got to see what your job involves! It's so hard to get through to people who work with their hands, and who don't understand desk jobs. Excellent news.

Pies on a Carousel November 30, 2015

I've worked in horrible dirty gross factories and I've worked in clean beautiful air conditioned offices, and I'm honestly not sure which one I prefer. I think both are equally draining unless you happen to be doing something you love, which never is the case for me.

AlexYourAlterEgo Pies on a Carousel ⋅ November 30, 2015

I used to enjoy working the bar at huge functions. Like, really, really enjoy it. But, it's not something I wanted to do forever, and the hours were sucky as far as missing out on birthdays and holidays and stuff. But that was hard work, long hours, and coming home saturated in beer (even underpants).

I enjoy doing law, and I'm pretty good at it. But, I feel like recently I just have no enthusiasm for anything. I can easily get away with just sitting here on PB or FB or whatever and no one says a damn thing. I still get paid the same. Where's the motivation? I just know that it's not morally correct, and eventually, surely it would catch up with me.

I'm not sure what my solution is. I don't want to find a job elsewhere, I like working for the people I work for. I hope that having a more manageable schedule will mean that I feel more refreshed and able to focus a bit better.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.