**RANT** in advent 2013

  • Dec. 13, 2013, 12:31 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Parenting can be fucking hard sometimes. Don't we know it? But not so hard that we can't assess and recognise when we're getting it wrong?! Hell, I get it wrng often but getting it wrong helps me to learn, just wish I wasn't messing up on my kids!

Waiting to take Lyf into preschool today and, behind, two mums. Where we wait for preschool is next to a grassy area and her son ran onto the grass. She called him back, he ignored her. The fifteen minute wait was spent with her barking at him for being naughty. I didn't see him being naughty, I saw him running on the grass, collecting sticks and stones and exploring hard to reach spaces.

Yeah. Being a kid.

As she barked he ignored and carried on at which point she said "that's it, I've cancelled Christmas! Santa's not coming!"

He grinned at her and carried on.

She said to her friend "no wonder preschool are always telling me how naughty he is."

yeah love, really!!

So, come Christmas morning do you think there will be empty stockings and ham sandwiches for lunch?

No of course there won't! He'll have all his presents because only a really mean parent would do that!

Seriously, empty threats are a pile of bullshit, constant nagging at him to stop Being A Kid is wearing down at his respect for mum, hid self respect and is affecting his other relationships.

AAAAGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!

And rant is done.

Dominoes nearly here.


Life Is For Living December 13, 2013

Too true. Empty threats are ridiculous. AND, I cannot stand these parents who freak out over every little thing. God forbid they are allowed to be a child for a bit. I can see if he was running near the street or something. I am of course cautious about safety -- but damn!

Deleted user December 13, 2013

I do think children should be taught to obey their parents the first time - I've seen the benefits of that type of 'training' in my sisters' kids. It prevents so many tears and tantrums. Of course that is easier said than done! But I also can't stand the empty threats... or threats in general. It's too easy for me to stand on the outskirts and criticize parents though. I don't really have the right! :)

The Tranquil Loon December 13, 2013

actions always speak louder than words.

~Twinkle~ December 14, 2013

Yeah see lots of this :/

Deleted user December 14, 2013

I totally hear you.... Other parents often seem like kids themselves. I feel sorry for them when that's the case :( My brother in law and his wife have their little girl on a leash, continually keeping her from being a kid. When we were visiting them we were letting our girl jump up and down and squeal of excitement. Her little cousin started doing the same. My brother in law says to her, "Settle down, B. Be civil." Yowch !!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.