Thanks for giving.. in blackpropaganda

  • Nov. 26, 2015, 5:23 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I suspect I have put this Norman Rockwell picture up most years for Thanksgiving in the US - it was from the series The Four Freedoms in 1943 - and this was Freedom from Want - the, as Rockwell saw it, typical American family having the best of everything. There is so much one could write about this - but I leave it with you without comment.

alt text

At least that is one of the US holidays we have not taken up in the UK - of course, we could not since the Puritans left Great Britain in the first place because of religious persecution - but it looks like we have now taken over Black Friday. IT has been going on for a few years - but now we are bombarded by stores and on line urging us to buy, buy, buy at discount rates. There were near riots in a store last year - so it is a bit better organised this year.

I suppose it marks the start of the commercial festival - although ads seems to have been on tv for weeks. Luckily we do not have to give many presents anymore - money suffices - although I did get a CD for SW… in the city yesterday - Alexander Armstrong, of Pointless fame, singing a range of songs in his trained baritone - I did not have to ask where to find it - just went to Easy Listening!. He has been promoting it over the last few weeks and I reckon it will surprise her to find I bought it for her. I do not give her many surprises this days.....!!!

Anyway - thanks Yanks for Black Friday - at least we have given you James Corden.

And here is an observation which is so true!!

alt text

and

alt text


Last updated November 26, 2015


woman in the moon November 26, 2015

I had to look up the four freedoms:

Freedom of speech
Freedom of worship
Freedom from want
Freedom from fear

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Four_Freedoms_%28Norman_Rockwell%29

blackpropaganda woman in the moon ⋅ November 26, 2015

Thanks for reminding me of the right title

Deleted user November 26, 2015

You should really surprise her this year!

blackpropaganda Deleted user ⋅ November 26, 2015

Hmm - I wonder what I could do!!!

WanderingWarrior November 26, 2015

You're welcome :P

and that last comic really made me burst out laughing

January Child November 27, 2015

I'm glad we don't have it here. While I like the concept of being thankful, I HATE the gluttony around the day, especially when there are so many homeless... not to mention starving people around the world.. Why does everything have to be done in excess?

blackpropaganda January Child ⋅ November 27, 2015

I am with you on this - but just stick to your own principles

colojojo November 29, 2015

I got annoyed with some videos I saw on Facebook. Comparing US chaos to UK having it under control and everyone all nice this year. To be fair, there is chaos at either place, it depends on how the store handles the situation or organized themselves. I've seen perfect organization in the US and videos in the UK. I also saw the chaos videos last year of the U.K. and chaos in the US. So it annoys the hell out of me when I see people all "we're doing it better!!" No matter which country is trying to brag over the other.

blackpropaganda colojojo ⋅ November 29, 2015

US should be OK since they have more experience - interesting that this year ASDA - a branch of Walmart - who had the worst trouble last year decided not to have a BF.

colojojo blackpropaganda ⋅ November 29, 2015

Probably wasn't worth law suits or bad press, if anything happened. And to be honest, the deals here aren't nearly as good or as discounted as things are in the US, so in the end--is it really worth it? Also depends on their sales and employees, etc.

In the states, while the Friday after thanksgiving is not considered a holiday, schools have off, and many people take off of work because of kids, or to shop, or to make their holiday weekend longer. So that's that many people not working and possibly/probably out shopping. In the UK, thanksgiving isn't a holiday. It's just another Thursday. Therefore Friday is no different. I can't imagine many people would have off to go shopping the way people do in the states

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.