Travel Pillow Complete in Crafts

  • Nov. 24, 2015, 10:01 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Like I mentioned before, I came up with the idea of a travel pillow when I saw one on-line. I was thinking I could make them for all of my great nieces and nephews and take them to them on Thanksgiving but then I just kind of let the time go by. But I did know I wanted to make them for the boys.

So I looked at how the fabric travel pillow was made and came up with my crochet pillow. To me the pillow was shaped like a minion so that is why they became minions. Plus the boys love the minions and they are pretty simple to make look like a minion. But I have lots of ideas about what the pillows could look like. They have camo yarn, now, so a camo pillow for a boy. I could make pillows the colors of their favorite teams. I could also come up with other animals to make them like. I mean, they are easy to make and fun to make so why not make more, right?

The only thing I am still not certain of is the pillow form that goes in the middle. I bought $7.99 pillow forms for the boys and ended up taking some of the stuffing out and doubling them up so they became roll pillows. They would be easy enough to make if I sewed. I would just get cheap white fabric and stuff them. Cap did buy me a small sewing machine that I havent used, yet. Maybe I need to get that out and see if that will just make the 3 seams I would need.

I have always wanted to do an Etsy store but you cant used anyone’s pattern to sell there without permission. Even though I change alot of my patterns up, they are still someone else’s pattern. So maybe if I could make alot of the pillows, different yarns, different colors, etc, then maybe I could do an Etsy store. I know I was able to make the 2 pillows with 1 skein of yarn which was $3.99. The other yarn I used was yarn I already had. Then I would have to factor in the pillow expenses. But, still, I think that I could probably make one for less than $5. And if I charged $20 that would be a profit. I dont really want to make alot of money but it would be nice to make money for more yarn, you know? Cap wants me to make some so he can sell them and that may be what I do. He loves them and is just blown away with the creativity of the minions. What can I say? Cap thinks I am a creative genius. lol Which I know I am not but he wasnt raised with people doing crafts like I was. I watched my mother and aunts making all kinds of things as I was growing up.

So here are the pics.

First the pic of the pillow top all spread out.
alt text

Next a pic of the other side of the pillow top with the actual pillow beside it.
alt text

And a pic of the pillow stuffed into the pillow top.
alt text

Finally a pic of the pillow wrapped up from the back. I used a piece of velcro that sticks to the yarn itself so you dont have to be precise when you roll it up.
alt text

Then, just for fun and because it shows the pillow on the seat belt, here is another pic of Cap and the Minion.
alt text


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.