NoJoMo Day 19 - Least Favorite Family Member in The Long and Winding Road

  • Nov. 20, 2015, 7:38 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Day Nineteen: Who is your least favorite family member? Why.

Yesterday I joked that it would be easier to name my least favorite family member than to choose a favorite, but now that the question is posed, I kinda don’t like it. It’s negative. But I’ll come up with something.

Ok. First of all, there are some of my cousins, most of whom I honestly don’t know very well and I haven’t seen them in about 15 years, nor do I care to ever see them again. They are the ones who post a lot of hateful, venomous, mostly false political things on Facebook. I completely respect each person’s right to their own opinions and to support the political party and candidates of their choice. I also support each person’s right to freedom of religion, freedom to believe whatever they believe, freedom to not believe. I just don’t want anyone else’s beliefs forced upon me or my lifestyle. Some of my cousins are among the group of people in our country who hate Pres. Obama with such a passion, that he could never, ever do anything right in their eyes. He could bring about world peace and find a cure for cancer and they would still find something negative to say about him. They seem to browse all the most hateful websites and they gleefully share every picture and report on Facebook that reflects poorly on Obama, even if it isn’t true. And most of it isn’t. Not that they’d know. They can’t be bothered to fact check before they share something, and honestly they don’t WANT to fact check because (1) they’re too ignorant and lazy to do so and (2) they want to believe every negative thing they read. And sadly, a lot of people in our country form their opinions based on that kind of crap. The other day one of my cousins posted a picture of Pres. Obama on the phone, with the wrong end of the handset at his ear. Her comment was “So sad”. Seriously? Does anyone with half a brain truly believe that a man who is intelligent and aware enough to become PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES is so stupid as to have the wrong end of the receiver at his ear??? These people have absolutely zero concept of what it takes to be an executive, let alone the top executive in the country. I went to Snopes.com and found the report that the picture was Photoshopped, and I shared it in response to her post. It’s just this kind of stupid shit that drives me crazy and is slowly pushing me away from Facebook. It also makes me very disappointed in some family members I have loved all my life. I don’t care if they don’t like our president – that is their right. But don’t post stupid crap that is mostly not true at all. Make your points in an intelligent manner to let us know why you don’t like him, or why you do like someone else. Then maybe someone will respect your opinion.

Then there is a young man who is barely related to me (thankfully). He married my stepsister’s daughter and he is a true bigoted New Orleans redneck. He’s smarmy and cocky. I had a bad vibe from him right from the beginning, and my opinion of him was cemented when my niece (my sister’s daughter, who was visiting my stepsister’s family in New Orleans) told me that while they were watching a football game, this young man yelled “Yes! Run nigger, run!”.

Enough said.


NorthernSeeker November 20, 2015

It's funny about that question. I have no problem complaining about my family but I don't like the idea of classifying a "least favourite" family member.

Just Annie November 20, 2015

I unfollowed one cousin and unfriendled another this week for their ignorant ugliness. After our summer family picnic, I had several cousins as friends and now I regret it.

plushcreep November 20, 2015

I have turned to snopes.com many times to debunk things that most people with even a modicum of common sense would rule out as phony. Good on you! Question: can we count in-laws?

Deleted user November 21, 2015

I would block those people :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.