Number 119 in Wanderings

  • Nov. 19, 2015, 1:37 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

On Saturday, the weather was perfect for my monthly hike. I packed my cooking gear, extra clothes and other essentials and hit the trail for a full day of hiking. After an hour I had reached Weathertop, making it 119 months in a row that I have stood on the summit. Next month will be a milestone as 120 consecutive months will make 10 full years (a number I have been eyeing ever since I reached number 100). I still had six hours before I told my wife I would be back to the cabin, so after a short rest, on up the hill I went.
After another hour and a half, I reached the place I call Rocky Top, a full 5 miles from and 2000 feet in elevation above the cabin. It is my favorite lunch place. The sky was blue and the sun felt warm, and with the temperature in the upper 40’s, it felt just about perfect. Here is the view to the north that I enjoyed:
 photo 87358b09-6e1a-4432-841d-4b86413276d2_zpsyvvaegcp.jpg

I made myself some coffee and then cooked lunch. The recent nights had been below freezing which knocked down the bugs, leaving none to pester me, so after my lunch, I lay down on a bed of pine needles and took a nap in the warm sunshine.
As I drifted in and out of sleep, my feathered friends the chickadees came to visit me. Since I speak fluent chickadee, we enjoyed a nice conversation. I gathered that they loved this day as much as I did. I wrote in my journal about how good I felt and how happy I was (a feeling that does not come along very often). There were a few inches of snow all around (except where I was laying) and to me it couldn’t get any better.
After I was well rested and well fed, I hiked another mile or two up the trail, enjoying each new vista that came before me. When I was sufficiently far, and the afternoon was sufficiently old, I knew I had only a few hours of daylight left, so after one short rest, I hiked the entire way back down with hardly a stop.
One of my favorite Chicago songs filled my thoughts, and I sang it many times as I walked:
<iframe width="420" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen=""></iframe>
After some deep thought, I realize that (at least part) of my happiness comes from finding Prosebox and especially finding many of my former OD friends.


Last updated November 19, 2015


thesunnyabyss November 19, 2015

I know who you are now, d'oh, I can't believe I couldn't figure it out at first, I kept thinking I know this person, but just couldn't figure it out, but this entry definitely reminded me, thank you, and welcome back,

I'm actually not all that far from you anymore, we moved to Edmonton Alberta last year for work, it's so awesome being so close to the mountains again, I'm so glad you are still going to the cabin!!

ManitouWolf November 19, 2015

Awesome on hitting the 119th month in a row. I am so envious! :)

Kimber November 19, 2015

I was wondering if you'd been able to do your monthly hike. Ten years is amazing.

ermentrude November 20, 2015

It's so good to read about your hikes again. I've missed the peace that emanates from them. X

Marg November 23, 2015

I think I remember you from OD - do you or did you have a full-time job which has nothing to do with your hiking? (I mean as in they're pretty unrelated to each other). Chicago was one of my favourite bands in the seventies - when 'If You Leave Me Now' came on the radio I would stop in my tracks no matter what I was doing! Well - apart from driving ...... :)

Deleted user January 11, 2016

True contentment / Happiness is so rare. Treasure it!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.