Feels Close to Home in Diary

  • Nov. 19, 2015, 2:19 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s been almost three weeks since I wrote in here. Not much happened the first couple of weeks. Then my sister came to visit me for a nice long weekend. We went to the pub, we chilled out at home, we went to the shops, wandered around the weirdest little museum and met up with the lovely Voni (Beatrix Plotter) for lunch. It was nice to spend a few days together, I don’t see my sister enough.

The main reason for her visit was to go and see a band she loves called Eagles of Death Metal. I don’t really know many of their songs, but Sonja wanted to stand at the front by the barrier. I’ve become too old for this lately and usually prefer to stand at the back as I get claustrophobic, but it wasn’t too bad, there was enough room to breathe and we were right next to an exit, which I like in case I start to panic in the crowd and have to get out quickly. The only problem was, we were also right next to the speaker stack so we had tinnitus for two days after; I should have taken my earplugs. The singer came into the photographer pit at the front at one point and was giving everyone high fives. Sonja tried to get a high five but he stopped just before he got to her and turned his back on her, too bad!

It was a good night, great atmosphere and everyone had a brilliant time.

Which is why the horrendous murders in Paris hit so close to home. Eagles of Death Metal were playing at the Bataclan exactly one week after we saw them, when the gunmen stormed in and murdered 89 innocent people in cold blood. It sent a shiver down my spine when I heard and I keep imagining what it must have been like, as they were people just like me, having a good time, watching this band, listening to some music. I seriously don’t understand what the hell is wrong with these people and what point they’re trying to make. These people are innocent, with families and friends, enjoying a concert, a meal, a football match.

People getting murdered every day in Syria. Students being mown down by a crazed gunman in Kenya. All in the space of a few days. Seriously, why the hell can’t people just get on with their lives and leave everyone else alone? It makes me sick to be human; these lunatics have no right to call themselves human.

I just had to say something, but I had no idea how to write it down. I still don’t, I just sat down and let my fingers do the talking. The world is messed up, I hate it.


Babe In Toyland November 19, 2015

<3

mutedexposure November 19, 2015

Your broken heart shows your humanity. We need more people like you to keep those of us with open hearts and minds in the majority. When we become the minority then we are in trouble.

Canadian Lass November 19, 2015

i think the same hun, i don't understand the thought process that drives ppl to kill for any reason. its maddening, truly.

history of love November 20, 2015

I think many of us felt the same as you. mutedexposure says it best.
Hope everything else is ok in life.
x

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.