NoJoMo Day 18 - Favorite Family Member in The Long and Winding Road

  • Nov. 19, 2015, 8:07 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Day Eighteen: Who is your favorite family member? Why?

My first instinct is to skip this prompt. I don’t have a favorite family member. If I could have numerous “favorites”, I could respond, but that defeats the meaning of the word “favorite”. So, I’ll just answer it the way I want to. My numerous favorite family members:

My daughter (I’m not naming names because this entry is not “friends only”): Of course I couldn’t have any list like this, without her on it. She is and always has been the light of my life. When she was a little girl, Debbie Boone’s song “You Light Up My Life” was her favorite song. If it began to play, say, in a grocery store, she would gasp and we would have to freeze where we were and listen to it. Well, she lights up my life. I couldn’t be more proud of her. She didn’t always have it easy as she was growing up but she overcame a lot and she is a beautiful, loving, intelligent, accomplished woman with a great job, a loving husband, and a precious child. No mother could ask for more.

My son-in-law: I am so fortunate to have a son-in-law whom I love, admire, respect, and enjoy. He came along and did wonderful things for my daughter, like help her increase her self-esteem and realize her full potential, he introduced her to world travel and really helped expand her horizons so much. He has always been good to me – we get along like good friends – and of course, he treats my daughter like a Queen. He is a devoted, loving, hands-on daddy who has changed at least as many diapers as my daughter has and who spends a lot of quality time with his son.

My grandson: Well how could he not be on the list? As many of you know, I thought I would never be a grandma, and I had made peace with that. My daughter and son-in-law did not want children, or so they said. It turns out that that’s just what they told people so they wouldn’t be bugged all the time about “When are you going to have a baby?”. They were a little bit older when they finally decided to have him, but he has been well worth waiting for. He, too, lights up our lives.

My sister: I have two sisters and I love them both, but I am closer to one than the other, primarily because we have had a lot more time together as adults. My sisters are the only other two people on earth who shared my childhood experiences and knows all the drama and trauma of our parents’ lives. My closer sister and I have shared a lot of ups and downs, and we can be completely honest with each other. I know I can count on her, no matter what.

My nieces: I’ve watched my sister’s two daughters grow up into delightful young women. One is on her way to medical school (completely on full scholarships) and the other graduates from college this spring and wants to go to medical school as well. They are bright over-achievers who care about the world, the environment, the poor, the under-privileged. They live healthy, active lives. And they are so much fun to be with.

My puppy My puppy is family to me and you all know how dearly I love her! I would not place her above my human family – at least, not the family members I’ve mentioned here – but my life wouldn’t be the same without her.

Honorable mention goes out to my mom’s brothers and especially her sisters – my aunts who have loved me and been there for me all my life.

How fortunate am I to have so many “favorites”???


Bird of Paradise November 19, 2015

Great response to that question. I just skipped it and came up with my own question for today and tomorrow because I do have family who reads here and at FB. But like you said I don't really have a favorite but I do have a least favorite.

Anaiss Bird of Paradise ⋅ November 19, 2015

I think "least favorite" would have been easier for me to narrow down!

GypsyWynd November 19, 2015

You're fortunate indeed!

Deleted user November 19, 2015

Very fortunate , indeed!

plushcreep November 20, 2015

Safe answer...but smart answer!

NorthernSeeker November 20, 2015

We are conditioned against answering that question...who wants to put themselves in a Sophie's Choice position?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.