Taking a step back in The start of something?

  • Nov. 16, 2015, 9:38 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So here’s the thing.
I have a tendency to become obsessive. This is not something unknown to me and I try to keep a lid on it.

I started recording how much I was running in this diary as I wanted to keep myself in check. I stopped writing because I was increasing my distances and I guess I wanted to stay in denial.
This week I’ve put the brakes on but here is what my routine was last week.

Weekdays.... Get up at 3.20am. Run at least 14 of my 17.2 kms. Catch a train to work that gets me into the city and hour and half before I start, walk at least another 7kms before work.
Walk at least 2 kms during my lunch break....
Weekends… get up anytime before 7am, walk/run at least 32kms, usually more but that was my minimum.

I guess it’s no wonder that I had a stress fracture a few months ago, and now I have some other type of injury. I’m not sure if it’s arthritis or what… aside from that, my legs are also in constant pain. Just a general ache from the knees down. This mainly affects me at night though.

So this week, I’ve decided to rewrite my fitness routine.
I’m not running at all. I’m walking 4-5kms when I get up (at 4.30am – I like mornings)
I still get into the city an hour and a half before work but just do a casual 6kms instead of rushing through to complete at least 7kms.
I’ll stroll around at lunch time… probably do 1-1.5kms…

And that’s it.
I’m pretty depressed about it as I’m scared I’ll get fat like last time I stopped running.
I’m also depressed that I now can’t eat what I want… Last week I was pretty much eating what I wanted (always healthy foods though) because I could.. Now I have to watch what I eat again…

I must admit, I do like not being stressed about what time I go to bed now that I’m up an hour later…
I know hubby likes it as my obsessions take a toll on him. Plus the treadmill is really really noisy and often he doesn’t finish work till 11pm… so you can imagine how annoying it was to hear it going off at 3.30am probably not long after he’d gotten to sleep…

Anyhow, hopefully I won’t get caught up into my web of obsession again. Hopefully I can keep myself in check


Wind Swept November 16, 2015

This sounds too familiar. I work out 5-7 days a week. I walk/hike 100 miles (minimum) every month. I don't eat junk/fast food. But yet I am a big guy and cannot lose a pound to save my life. And ever so slowly my weight creeps up. I don't know what else to do except give up food....
You are an inspiration to us all with your dedication and hard work...

whowhatwhere November 17, 2015

I have to really watch myself when it comes to the gym because I can get the same way.

Complicated Disaster November 17, 2015

Take it easy! Stay fit but try not to spiral! xx

caramelchicken November 17, 2015

I'm glad you caught yourself before it got worse! Don't beat yourself up regardless of what ends up happening. Do you like swimming? It's far less stress on the body.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.