NoJoMo Day 16 - Typical Day in The Long and Winding Road

  • Nov. 16, 2015, 11:11 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Day Sixteen: What’s your typical daily routine? Share some photos if you want.

For the most part, my week days are pretty routine, but there are some variables. This is probably going to be pretty boring, but it is what it is.

6:00 or 6:30 am - Wake up, usually no alarm clock needed. Reach for my iPhone to go to the app for my Nest thermostat so I can turn the heat up (I keep the house pretty cool overnight. Yes, I could set it so it automatically starts heating up at 6:00 am, I just haven’t gotten around to doing that). Then my puppy and I snuggle under the nice warm covers waiting for the house to heat up, while I give her ear rubs and belly rubs.

From 6:30 to 8:00:
- Check email, delete the 20 or so emails that came in overnight from all the places I shop at, respond to any personal emails that warrant immediate crack-of-dawn replies;
- Strip bed and toss sheets in the washer (once a week)
- shower & wash hair;
- put makeup on;
- get dressed & select accessories for the day (jewelry, shoes);
- empty dishwasher and/or do any clean up needed in the kitchen;
- empty trash;
- provide fresh food and water for puppy;
- change puppy’s wee-pad out;
- Put sheets in dryer (once a week)
- catch up on breaking news on Good Morning America;
- dry hair (saves time to let it air dry a little while I’ve been busy doing other things);
- Make a quick breakfast or prepare Protein drink to have on the way to work
- Grab something from refrigerator or freezer to take for my lunch (unless I’m going out to lunch that day)
- Get Kong treat out of the freezer for puppy (which I have previously filled with baby food and frozen), give it to her when she goes in her pen right before I leave for work
- Pack up laptop, water bottle, lunch, anything else I need for the day; grab all that stuff and bag of trash, any recycling, and leave
- Stop and drop off trash and recycling at dumpsters before heading out to work

8:00 - 8:25 am:
- Drive to work. Listen to motivational CDs for part of the drive, then morning talk radio. *If it’s Wednesday, that is puppy’s day at Doggie Day Camp so we leave home about 15 minutes earlier so I can drop her off.

8:30 - 9:30 am:
- Arrive at work, fix a cup of tea, visit with co-workers, check my favorite news websites, get organized for day

9:30 - 1:30:
- Keep very busy working at my job

1:00 or 1:30 to 2:30 pm:
- Lunch break. Usually go running around, stopping at pet store or grocery store, etc. Then back to work to eat my lunch in the lunchroom while watching something on Netflix on my iPad. Unless I have my puppy at work with me that day, which I do a few days a week, in which case we go for a walk in the park at lunch time. Or, unless I’m going out to lunch that day.

2:30 - 5:30 pm:
- More busy time at work

5:30 - 6:00 pm:
- Drive home. Unless my friends and I are going to Happy Hour, or I’m meeting a friend to go out to dinner, or I’m going straight to my daughter and son-in-law’s house to babysit for the evening. *If it’s Wednesday, I pick puppy up from doggie day camp before going home.

6:30 - 10:00 pm: If I’m home for the evening, my routine more or less is:
- Get home, check mail
- Get inside, drop my stuff, let puppy out of pen (if she’s been home all day) and spend some time with her
- Fix dinner
- Eat dinner, usually while watching something I’ve recorded from the previous night. Like The Walking Dead or Nashville. When there’s no shows from the previous night, I’ll watch one of the late night shows that I record.
- Futz around the house – do some laundry, get online, text with friends, talk on the phone (rarely though - I hate the phone), read a book, watch TV, work on a project around the house

10:00 pm - Go to bed. Sometimes I’ll watch TV in bed for awhile before I turn out the light.

There you go. I warned you it would be boring!


plushcreep November 16, 2015

I don't think it's boring. I actually find other people's routines oddly fascinating.

GypsyWynd November 16, 2015

It may be boring to you, but it didn't sound boring to me.

Beret November 16, 2015

I don't think it is boring at all. You have a very full day with many different aspects to it. You are not at all one-dimensional!

Deleted user November 16, 2015

I love to see other people's routines and wish mine was that structured.

Just Annie November 17, 2015

Not boring at all. It's fun to read about other people's life and routines here on Prosebox. :)

NorthernSeeker November 17, 2015

You are so techy....an app to turn on your furnace remotely!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.