It's been a week... in Life

  • Nov. 16, 2015, 1:46 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

This time last week I was feeling sick to my stomach and watching Lizzie struggle. I knew that I was going to have to make a decision by Monday morning. I couldn’t figure out how to take the day off from school, so I was trying to figure out how to handle everything. I thought about calling my parents to come check on her, but Mama is still taking care of Aunt D and Patty. (She’s been home from the hospital almost 2 weeks now, but still a long road ahead of her. She’s having to use a walker because of the vertigo, she’s still got a lot of memory loss. The neurologist scheduled her for a CT next week. Aunt D is becoming difficult. She’s not letting Patty sleep like she needs to and they are relying on my mom too much. I’m trying to hold back and not say anything, but Mama got herself down about a week and a half ago trying to take care of them. I know their options are limited, but my 73 year old mom can’t take care of them forever.
I’ve been cleaning here, some of Lizzie’s things are boxed because I have no doubt that there will be a fur baby or two in my future. Some has been bagged up and brought to a coworker with a cat, and some I have thrown away. That was hard. I threw the perch away because I don’t think I could look at it without thinking of her, but it also was just recovered by me, in a crappy way. You couldn’t remove the fabric to wash it. I kept moving it aside to throw everything else away, but I finally threw it, too. Hearing it land in the dumpster just about killed me. I don’t know why. I just sat there and cried.
I can sit back and think of the happy times with her now, but God, I miss her. I will forget and walk in the door looking for her, or I’ll swear that I hear her jumping up on the bed.
I saved the back room for today when I could spend all day on it. This is the room that had the litter box. I wanted to vacuum the carpet and get all the litter out of the carpet, rearrange the boxes, etc. I had a box of litter left. When I picked it up, it spilled some. You can only sweep so much litter out of carpet before you have to vacuum. Well, apparently it was too much for the vacuum. It got about halfway through the stack and then it stopped sucking. I worked on it some to try and unclog it, started vacuuming again, and it started smoking. That was it for the vacuum. Lizzie got her final revenge. :) She HATED the vacuum. Even this one, which was quieter, was her mortal enemy. I couldn’t even be upset at losing the vacuum, because I could picture her giving her best RBF at the vacuum.
Did I mention how much I miss her? :(


Daisy Mae November 16, 2015

{{{Hugs}}} So hard to let go. They are always in the corner of your eye, just out of sight.

Deleted user November 16, 2015

I am so sorry :-( I know it's hard missing them so much. Big hugs !!!

Small Town Girl November 16, 2015

Its so hard! You will look for her or think you heard her for quite a few months to come. They are such big parts of our lives. Id so strange not having them there. HUGS

terriberri November 16, 2015

i am glad your heart is not closed to another fur baby in the future. you and that future fur baby will both benefit from sharing each other. lizzy will be missed...but she is also always with you.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.