Flat in Hello.

  • Nov. 15, 2015, 11:01 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

After the enjoyable weekend I spent at Shellie’s, I’m now feeling very flat.
These terrorists in Paris have well and truly put things in perspective. I was watching it unfold as I was following the Eagles of Death Metal gig via the Queens of the Stone Age group on Facebook. Some of the group members were there and were reporting back as it was all kicking off. I had just been thinking “this time last week, Shellie and I were enjoying ourselves watching EODM in Birmingham!” then the first message came through. One of the group members had escaped the venue via the stage and had followed the band and helped them into a taxi. A couple were, and still are, unaccounted for. The guy who sells the band merch, Nick, was one of the Brits at the concert to have lost his life. No doubt he was there last week too, but I was too busy concentrating on getting out of the venue before I had a panic attack. It really puts things in perspective. I know Shellie had got a bit cross because we came out of the tram station and spent 10 minutes walking in the wrong direction and that made her reflective too.
These pathetic creatures....I don’t know what was going through their minds before they decided to mindlessly gun down innocent people who were just enjoying themselves.
Also the poor kids in Kenya who were gunned down at the university just outside Nairobi. What kind of person would do such a thing? Urgh.

And now our home is at serious risk of flooding. We live right next to the river and we’ve watched it continuously over the past couple of days. It went up about five feet overnight, and we’re still fine, but it’s still raining in the Lakes. It’s almost fit to burst. I decided to cancel my driving lesson in case we needed to evacuate, and my boss has been texting me, worried about the shop. We look ok for now though, so I made a beef in ale casserole, which we’ve had with crusty bread and roasties. I’m having a glass of wine and feel decidedly sleepy.


Bomb Shell November 15, 2015

It hasn't been a good weekend.

Keep me updated on the flooding situation, it sounds like the defences are working so far.

Canadian Lass November 15, 2015

hugs

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.