We went to a concert last night in The View from the Terrace

  • Nov. 14, 2015, 6:32 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hubby and I went to a concert last night. It was a friend of ours Chris Bannister from the John Denver club, he performs John Denver tributes, well not tributes exactly as he doesn’t try to emulate John Denver, he sings his music in his own style. We had a great time and, at the end, the audience were dancing in the aisles. We even sat next to someone who may be interested in our club.

Chris has very strong feelings about things and last night he featured a poem John Denver once recorded called the box, It’s an anti war poem and Chris played the recording of John reciting it then went into a song advocating peace. It must have been at almost the same time as when those people at another concert in Paris were being held hostage and murdered. I have thought of little else all day.

We are planning a visit to Paris next year and Hubby asked me if I still wanted to go. But you can’t live like that. Should we cancel our weekend in London in February to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary? My daughter lives in Cardiff, is it safe for her to go to theatres and restaurents there?

I have a friend in Paris, well a sort of relative really. Her husband is descended from my great grandfather’s sister. We found each other on a genealogy site and have corresponded ever since. Not often, just when we have some more research to share and to send greetings at Christmas. One of the first things I did today was to send her an email. She must be so upset, she lives in the middle of the city, she told me she could see the Eiffel Tower from her balcony.The funny thing is that our joint ancestors lived in the area of the concert Hubby and I went to, Stroud in Gloucestershire.

I still have 2 NojoMo entries to catch up with but I wanted to write about Paris today.


nothispenelope November 14, 2015

the concert sounds cool. and i'm going to london for a wk. day after thanksgiving w/ my mom. my parents' ann. is in feb.

Deleted user November 14, 2015

I feel the same as you . I would go to Paris any time I was given the opportunity ... These cowardly criminals can not be allowed to control any of our lives..

^..^Kat November 16, 2015

I'm glad your friend is ok. I wouldn't cancel my plans either, that allows the terrorists to win. We can't live in fear of doing anything or else life passes by.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.